7.4 C
Thursday, June 13, 2024

Aitken retains away from Rast for victory in opener

Must read

- Advertisement -

The previous Components 1 driver remained in management all through for a dominant victory from pole in his Emil Frey Ferrari so as to add to his win on the Oschersleben season opener.

Three-time DTM champion Rene Rast completed second for his first podium of the season, as Arjun Maini accomplished the highest three forward of Sunday’s race.

Because the lights went out for the fifth spherical of the marketing campaign, Aitken pulled away cleanly as second-placed Clemens Schmid thwarted an assault from Maini within the opening corners.

Aitken progressively gained 2.1 seconds on Schmid within the opening 11 minutes, as Rast confirmed sturdy tempo additional again after leaping from seventh to fourth throughout that interval.

However overtaking proved tough because of the tightness of the Dutch circuit, as drivers saved place till the pitstop window 21 minutes into the race.

- Advertisement -

Schmid was first of the frontrunners to pit however this proved pricey, as Aitken pulled 9 seconds clear after switching tyres the next lap.

The Dorr McLaren driver then dropped one other place when Rast pitted the tour after Aitken, whereas Maini accomplished one other lap earlier than boxing.

Arjun Maini, Mercedes-AMG Crew HRT Mercedes-AMG GT3

Picture by: Alexander Trienitz

The lengthy overcut gave the impression to be a masterstroke, because the Mercedes driver left the pitlane simply forward of Aitken, however he was capable of regain the lead from Maini on the earliest alternative across the exterior of Flip 3.

Maini misplaced second to Rast 10 minutes later when the Schubert BMW moved down the within of Flip 1, earlier than specializing in Aitken who was 2s clear with 23 minutes remaining.

Rast did not make any vital beneficial properties although as Aitken crossed the road 2.3s forward to maneuver as much as third within the championship standings.

Maini was an extra 3.2s behind, whereas Schmid missed out on his maiden DTM podium in fourth.

Lucas Auer accomplished the highest 5 forward of 2022 champion Sheldon van der Linde in sixth, whereas Marco Wittmann claimed seventh after overtaking Riccardo Feller down the within of Flip 1 with 13 minutes left.

Mirko Bortolotti and Luca Stolz accomplished the highest 10, whereas championship chief Kelvin van der Linde completed 14th.

DTM Zandvoort – Race 1 outcomes

Outcomes to comply with

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article