0.4 C
Friday, December 1, 2023

Aitken scores first win as Preining handed penalty

Must read

- Advertisement -

Emil Frey Ferrari driver Aitken led almost the whole race from pole place, save for the pitstop part, beating the SSR Efficiency Lamborghini of Mirko Bortolotti by 2.3s after one hour of racing on the 4.35km circuit.

Kelvin van der Linde completed third for Abt Audi, making it three completely different producers on the rostrum.

When the primary of the 2 races on the Lausitzring this weekend received underway, Aitken held the highest spot going into the opening left-hander, whereas Winward Mercedes driver Lucas Auer tried a transfer on Bortolotti for second earlier than backing down and settling for third.

Additional down the sphere, Preining was in a three-way battle for the final-points scoring positions when he hit the aspect of Franck Perera into Flip 2, who in flip collided with the Audi of Luca Engstler that was already on the sting of the observe. 

The contact left Engstler’s Audi beached within the gravel, prompting the deployment of the protection automotive, whereas Perera additionally suffered terminal injury that pressured him to pit and retire his Lamborghini from the race.

- Advertisement -

The stewards held Preining chargeable for the collision and slapped him with three separate long-lap penalties, which he served after the SC interval, sending him tumbling down the order.

Again on the entrance, Aitken perfected the restart to carry the highest spot from Bortolotti, extending his lead progressively to 1 second by the point the pitstop window opened on the 20-minute mark.

Aitken waited till the third lap of the pit window to finish his necessary pitstop, which allowed Bortolotti to undercut him, however the British driver was in a position to repass the Lamborghini on his outlap.

From there on, Aitken wasn’t challenged for the highest spot of the rostrum, the 27-year-old turning into the ninth completely different driver to attain a win in 2023 in as many races

It additionally marked the primary victory for the brand new Ferrari 296 GT3 within the DTM, in addition to the primary for the Emil Frey squad that entered the championship this season.

Though Bortolotti was no match to Aitken, the runner-up end result moved him as much as second within the championship on a day when factors chief Preining completed down in fifteenth place.

Abt driver van der Linde completed half a second behind Bortolotti in third after passing the Mercedes of Auer proper after the latter’s pitstop. 

Fifth place went to van der Linde’s youthful brother and defending champion Sheldon, who was once more the highest finisher for BMW and Schubert Motorsport.

The South African handed the second Abt Audi of Ricardo Feller for fifth simply earlier than their pitstops, with Feller additionally shedding a spot to the HRT Mercedes of Luca Stolz when he ran extensive at Flip 7 on his outlap. He ultimately completed seventh.

Three-time DTM champion Rene Rast (Schubert BMW) bagged some stable factors in eighth after ranging from eleventh, whereas the highest 10 was accomplished by Aitken’s team-mate Thierry Vermeulen and Undertaking 1 BMW’s Marco Wittmann.

After dropping exterior the highest 20 following his triple long-lap penalty, Preining was in a position to salvage a solitary level in fifteenth place, passing the Grasser Lamborghini of Maximilian Paul with simply 10 minutes to go within the race.

DTM Laustizring – race one end result

 Cla   Nº   Driver   Automotive / Engine  Hole
1 14  Jack Aitken Ferrari  
2 92  Mirko Bortolotti Lamborghini 2.394
3 Ok.van der Linde Audi 5.272
4 22  Lucas Auer Mercedes 6.973
5 S.van der Linde BMW 7.917
6 Luca Stolz Mercedes 8.899
7 Ricardo Feller Audi 11.078
8 33  René Rast BMW 12.252
9 69  T.Vermeulen Ferrari 12.505
10 11  Marco Wittmann BMW 14.968
11 63  Clemens Schmid Lamborghini 17.204
12 90  Dennis Olsen Porsche 20.279
13 48  Maro Engel Mercedes 21.295
14 84  Jusuf Owega Mercedes 26.320
15 91  Thomas Preining Porsche 39.529
16 24  Ayhancan Guven Porsche 44.549
17 56  Sandro Holzem BMW 46.626
18 99  Marvin Dienst Porsche 48.924
19 19  Maximilian Paul Lamborghini 2 laps
(20) Alessio Deledda Lamborghini Retirement
(3) 36  Arjun Maini Mercedes Retirement
(4) 27  David Schumacher Mercedes Retirement
(16) 83  P.Niederhauser Audi Retirement
(23) 75  Laurin Heinrich Porsche Retirement
(16) 40  Mattia Drudi Audi Retirement
(25) Tim Heinemann Porsche Retirement
(27) 94  Franck Perera Lamborghini Retirement
  Luca Engstler Audi Retirement

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article