2.8 C
Tuesday, February 27, 2024

Arctic Council: we will resume some work, but without Russia

Must read

- Advertisement -

After Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, we suspended activities as part of the Arctic Council, now we will partially resume cooperation in this format, but without Russia, the member states announced on Wednesday in a joint statement.

“We intend to resume our work in a limited way in the Arctic Council format, in projects that do not involve the participation of the Russian Federation” – wrote in a statement published on the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs Iceland.

It was added that it will be an activity related, inter alia, to activities for the indigenous peoples of the Arctic.

Arctic Council buildingReuters Archive

The Arctic Council was established in 1996 by eight countries: DishFinland, Iceland, CanadaNorway Russia, Sweden and the USA. The work of the organization focuses on topics related to sustainable development, environmental protection, research and monitoring climate change and help from the indigenous peoples of the region.

- Advertisement -

On March 3, all founding countries except Russia withdrew from the Council’s work in response to “flagrant violations of the country’s principles of sovereignty and territorial integrity based on international law”, the statement recalled.

Main photo source: Reuters Archive

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article