12.6 C
Sunday, May 26, 2024

Barnard wins combined up characteristic race as title battle goes to the wire

Must read

- Advertisement -

The Jenzer Motorsport driver, who lined up tenth for Sunday’s race, took benefit of beginning on wets on the damp monitor because the leaders ran on slicks to make enormous strikes on the primary lap.

He was working second by lap three behind Paul Aron, who began eleventh, earlier than the Prema driver pitted for slick tyres.

This handed Barnard the lead, and regardless of a powerful problem from Christian Mansell (Campos), who had began twenty third, the Briton held on to take his second podium of the weekend.

Nikita Bedrin accomplished the rostrum for Jenzer, taking his second rostrum in as many rounds, forward of team-mate Alex Garcia in fourth to see all three Jenzer vehicles within the high 4.

It was a disappointing race for the title contenders, all of whom began on the slick tyres bar Aron, who completed eighth after the pit gamble did not repay.

- Advertisement -

Poleman Pepe Marti struggled in his Campos-run automobile, ending ninth, whereas championship chief Gabriel Bortoleto completed eleventh for Trident forward of Zak O’Sullivan (Prema) in twelfth.

The race, which was shortened from 18 to fifteen laps forward of the weekend, began behind the security automobile amid damp circumstances after Gabriele Mini (Hitech) crashed on his technique to the grid.

Aron instantly made a cost on the moist tyres, firing up the within of La Supply to clear three vehicles earlier than making it previous Trident’s Leonardo Fornaroli and Marti for the lead on the Kemmel Straight.

The frontrunners shortly dropped again, permitting the likes of all three Jenzers, Mansell, Sebastian Montoya (Hitech) and PHM’s Sophia Floersch, who lined up twenty fourth earlier than a fierce cost, to take benefit.

The protection automobile was deployed on lap 4 after Trident driver Oliver Goethe had an enormous smash out of Eau Rouge, with Aron stopping for the slick tyres in an early gamble, handing the result in Barnard.

Racing resumed on lap eight, with Saturday dash winner Caio Collet (Van Amersfoort Racing) taking ninth at Flip 1 earlier than passing MP driver Mari Boya for eighth alongside the Kemmel Straight.

Bedrin got here by from 18th to 3rd to finish sturdy day for Jenzer

Photograph by: System Motorsport Ltd

O’Sullivan had been working in tenth, however fell again to twelfth after working huge as his slicks struggled for grip.

Mansell and Barnard had been embroiled in a fierce battle for the lead on lap 11, with Mansell working huge at Les Combes and going by the run off as they tussled for the lead.

The Campos driver tried one other transfer two laps later, however Barnard put up a staunch defence to carry off his fellow rookie.

Barnard then managed to clear a 1.5s hole to Mansell, with an additional six seconds to Bedrin in third.

Although Bortoleto made progress behind, he was unable to get into the factors, passing O’Sullivan for eleventh on the penultimate lap.

Collet completed fifth forward of Montoya, with Floersch sixth having made up 18 locations.

Aron took eighth after his early pitstop, with Marti in ninth and Franco Colapinto rounding off the highest 10 for MP Motorsport.

Bortoleto stays on 144 factors heading into the ultimate spherical, with Aron on 106 in second forward of Marti on 105.

F3 Spa: Function race outcomes:

 Cla   Nº   Driver  Group Hole
1 27  Taylor Barnard Jenzer Motorsport  
2 24  C.Mansell Campos Racing 1.529
3 26  Nikita Bedrin Jenzer Motorsport 7.703
4 28  Alejandro García Jenzer Motorsport 8.915
5 17  Caio Collet Van Amersfoort Racing 20.053
6 14  Sebastian Montoya Hitech Pulse-Eight 20.172
7 29  Sophia Flörsch PHM Racing by Charouz 20.533
8 Paul Aron Prema Racing 28.760
9 23  Pepe Martí Campos Racing 30.172
10 10  Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 31.547
11 G.Bortoleto Trident 32.595
12 Zak O’Sullivan Prema Racing 33.068
13 11  Mari Boya MP Motorsport 34.910
14 L.Fornaroli Trident 35.731
15 Kaylen Frederick ART Grand Prix 35.959
16 Dino Beganovic Prema Racing 37.752
17 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix 40.127
18 19  Tom Smith Van Amersfoort Racing 43.351
19 12  Jonny Edgar MP Motorsport 45.093
20 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 45.875
21 18  R.Villagómez Van Amersfoort Racing 51.388
22 25  Hugh Barter Campos Racing 1’09.043
23 16  Luke Browning Hitech Pulse-Eight 1’38.817
24 21  F.Simonazzi Rodin Carlin 2’17.172
25 31  Michael Shin PHM Racing by Charouz 1 lap /59.109
  20  Oliver Grey Rodin Carlin Retirement
  22  Ido Cohen Rodin Carlin Retirement
  30  Roberto Faria PHM Racing by Charouz Retirement
  Oliver Goethe Trident Retirement
  15  Gabriele Minì Hitech Pulse-Eight Not began

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article