-1 C
Monday, November 29, 2021

Blomqvist returns to IMSA in 2022 with Meyer Shank Acura

Must read

- Advertisement -

The Anglo-Swedish driver, who contested the complete IMSA season in 2019 with the Group RLL-run BMW M8 within the GTLM class, will crew up with Oliver Jarvis as a part of an all-new lineup within the #60 Acura ARX-05 subsequent 12 months.

Jarvis’s transfer throughout from Mazda, following the top of the Japanese producer’s DPi programme that was fielded by Multimatic, was confirmed on Tuesday.

Dane Cameron, who claimed the 2019 IMSA title with Group Penske’s Acura, and Olivier Pla have been MSR’s two full-season IMSA drivers in 2021 though the latter was changed for final weekend’s closing spherical at Petit Le Mans by crew IndyCar common Helio Castroneves.

Blomqvist spent this season racing within the World Endurance Championship’s LMP2 division for Jota alongside a parallel marketing campaign for NIO 333 in System E.

“I’m completely thrilled to be becoming a member of Meyer Shank Racing for the 2022 IMSA SportsCar Championship,” stated Blomqvist.

- Advertisement -

“MSR has confirmed itself as one of many high race groups within the US, and within the Acura DPi I’m totally assured that we have now a unbelievable basis for fulfillment subsequent 12 months.

“I’ve earlier expertise of racing within the States from 2019, and in Prototypes from this 12 months within the WEC, so I’m hoping to utilise that have so we will hit the bottom working subsequent 12 months!”

Tom Blomqvist, NIO 333

Photograph by: Simon Galloway / Motorsport Images

Blomqvist completed second within the WEC this 12 months with Sean Gelael and ex-System 1 driver Stoffel Vandoorne, the trio lacking out to Group WRT after the Belgian outfit’s late season hat-trick of wins.

Previous to his latest exploits in prototypes, Blomqvist was a part of BMW’s manufacturing unit roster and accomplished three seasons within the DTM with the German producer between 2015 and 2017, bagging a victory in his rookie marketing campaign at Oschersleben.

He additionally received the Spa 24 Hours outright in 2018 with Walkenhorst Motorsport.

The 2-time McLaren Autosport BRDC Award finalist won’t stay in System E subsequent 12 months, with the Chinese language crew anticipated to announce a brand new accomplice for crew chief Oliver Turvey within the coming weeks.

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article