18.2 C
Tuesday, July 23, 2024

Boya takes benefit of Trident implosion for maiden win

Must read

- Advertisement -

Mari Boya topped the F3 podium for the primary time, securing solely his second profession top-three end in a comparatively easy affair for the Campos driver after early contact between Santiago Ramos and Sami Meguetounif cleared the trail for the Spaniard.

Alex Dunne (MP Motorsport) and Oliver Goethe (Campos) joined him within the prime three, though the previous’s place stays provisional as he’s topic to a post-race investigation for a false begin.

Following a post-qualifying monitor limits penalty for Sebastian Montoya, Trident noticed drivers Ramos and Meguetounif promoted onto the entrance row. However any hope of victory disintegrated with a 3rd lap collision between the team-mates.

With DRS enabled in the beginning of the lap, Meguetounif had the run on Ramos, who was defending the within line, into Flip 1. Regardless of area being left, Meguetounif took to the grass on the within, misplaced management and was compelled to retire with injury after the pair collided.

Ramos was in a position to get well to the pits with a puncture however rejoined in the back of the pack.

- Advertisement -

Within the mayhem, Nikita Bedrin (AIX Racing) and Callum Voisin (Rodin) additionally made contact on the similar nook – each of whom retired. Each incidents are topic to a post-race investigation.

The beneficiary was dwelling driver Boya, who led the best way from Dunne and Goethe when motion resumed on lap eight.

Photograph by: Zak Mauger – Motorsport Images

Whereas all eyes had been on the motion on the entrance, Montoya had made speedy progress, climbing from P27 to P15 by the point of the protection automotive. And this progress continued after the intervention, with Nikola Tsolov, Luke Browning and Christian Mansell all falling sufferer to the fast-charging Colombian by lap 13.

However this was all for nothing, when contact with Gabriele Mini (Prema) on lap 18 on the exit of Flip 4 because the traces of each drivers converged resulted in a proper entrance puncture to the Prema, leaving Mini unable to keep away from taking the pair into the gravel and out of the race.

On the entrance, Boya had survived an assault from Dunne after a interval of tyre saving. There was now, nonetheless, an asterisk hanging over the on-track motion as Dunne – together with Christian Mansell (ART), Bedrin, Charlie Wurz (Jenzer), Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak (AIX Racing), Sophia Floersch (Van Amersfoort Racing), Kacper Sztuka (MP Motorsport) and Piotr Wisnicki (Rodin) – was beneath investigation for a false begin.

With the clear-up unable to be accomplished inside the 21-lap distance, the race completed behind the protection automotive, with Boya left unchallenged to assert his first F3 victory and turn out to be the ninth totally different winner from 9 races on the 99th race within the class’s historical past.

Regardless of his retirement, Mini retained his lead within the championship on 72 factors, with Leonardo Fornaroli (Trident) second three factors again and Luke Browning (Hitech) third after failing to attain in P12.

F3 Spain – Dash race outcomes


M. Boya Campos Racing

12 21   153.462        

A. Dunne MP Motorsport

9 21 0.453 153.432        

O. Goethe Campos Racing

10 21 0.375 153.407        

M. Stenshorne Hitech Pulse-Eight

15 21 0.240 153.391        

L. Van ART Grand Prix

24 21 0.195 153.378        

N. León Van Amersfoort Racing

20 21 0.472 153.346        

L. Fornaroli Trident

4 21 0.158 153.336        

D. Beganovic Prema Powerteam

1 21 0.304 153.315        

A. Lindblad Prema Powerteam

3 21 0.501 153.282        

T. Tramnitz MP Motorsport

7 21 0.266 153.264        

C. Mansell ART Grand Prix

23 21 0.147 153.254        

L. Browning Hitech Pulse-Eight

14 21 0.264 153.237        

N. Tsolov ART Grand Prix

25 21 0.561 153.199        

C. Shields Hitech Pulse-Eight

16 21 0.277 153.181        

J. Loake Rodin Motorsport

31 21 0.439 153.151        

C. Wurz Jenzer Motorsport

17 21 0.330 153.129        

J. Dufek PHM AIX Racing

28 21 0.305 153.109        

T. Smith Van Amersfoort Racing

22 21 0.500 153.076        

M. Zagazeta Jenzer Motorsport

19 21 1.151 152.999        
20 Germany S. Flörsch Van Amersfoort Racing 21 21 0.179 152.987        

S. Ramos Trident

6 21 0.253 152.970        

M. Esterson Jenzer Motorsport

18 21 0.479 152.938        

Okay. Sztuka MP Motorsport

8 21 0.717 152.891        

P. Wiśnicki Rodin Motorsport

30 21 0.194 152.878        

T. Inthraphuvasak PHM AIX Racing

26 21 7.796 152.361        

G. Minì Prema Powerteam

2 17         Accident  
dnf Colombia S. Montoya Campos Racing 11 17         Accident  

S. Meguetounif Trident

5 2         Accident  

C. Voisin Rodin Motorsport

29 2         Accident  

N. Bedrin PHM AIX Racing

27 2         Accident  

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article