1.2 C
Friday, December 1, 2023

Button, Ericsson full WTR Andretti’s Acura GTP roster for Daytona 24

Must read

- Advertisement -

Button will associate Jordan Taylor, Louis Deletraz and Colton Herta aboard the group’s #40 Acura ARX-06 GTP, because the four-time Daytona 24 Hours profitable squad expands to 2 vehicles for the 2024 IMSA SportsCar Championship season.

It will likely be the 2009 Formulation 1 champion’s second IMSA outing after making his debut in a JDC-Miller Motorsports Porsche 963 at Petit Le Mans. 

In the meantime, 2022 Indianapolis 500 winner and new Andretti IndyCar signing Ericsson completes the roster for the group’s incumbent #10 entry that options Ricky Taylor, Filipe Albuquerque and Brendon Hartley. 

Though Button continues to be pretty new to IMSA, he has two earlier appearances within the Le Mans 24 Hours. Final 12 months racing the Hendrick Motorsports-prepared Chevrolet Camaro Storage 56 entry, he labored carefully with Jordan Taylor who was a part of the group in a supporting capability.

He mentioned: “I had my first style of IMSA final month at Petit Le Mans and cherished it. I couldn’t be happier to race at Daytona with such a prestigious group that has achieved a lot in endurance racing and particularly at Daytona.”

- Advertisement -

Ericsson, who joined Andretti International’s IndyCar outfit over the offseason after spending the earlier 4 years at Chip Ganassi Racing, will likely be making his second begin at Daytona.

The Swede completed sixth within the former DPi class within the 2022 version of the endurance traditional.

“After getting a style of the race in 2022, I’ve been desirous to get again on the grid for this legendary race,” he mentioned. “It feels improbable to be racing with probably the greatest and most profitable groups within the sport!

Picture by: Michael L. Levitt / Motorsport Images

#10 Wayne Taylor Racing Acura ARX-05 Acura DPi: Ricky Taylor, Filipe Albuquerque, Alexander Rossi, Helio Castroneves

“I’m already counting down the times and I’m wanting ahead to working with the group and my new team-mates. It’s additional particular for me to be racing with Acura, HPD and HRC which I do know very properly from racing my complete IndyCar profession with them. Deliver on 2024!”

WTR gained the 24 hours for the primary time in 2017 with Jordan and Ricky Taylor as a part of the driving lineup, alongside group stalwart Max Angelleli and NASCAR legend Jeff Gordon.

Their Cadillac DPi-V.R additionally triumphed in 2019, when Fernando Alonso, Renger van der Zande and Kamui Kobayashi joined Jordan Taylor, and once more in 2020 as van der Zande and Kobayashi teamed up with Ryan Briscoe and Scott Dixon.  

Following the change to Acura equipment for 2021, Ricky Taylor rejoined WTR from Crew Penske and took the squad’s fourth win alongside Filipe Albuquerque, Helio Castroneves and Alexander Rossi.

There will likely be three days of testing previous to the IMSA season opener on 27-28 January, with the Roar Earlier than the 24 falling on the 19-21 January.

WTR Andretti group principal Wayne Taylor, who gained the 24 hours in 1996 and 2005, hailed Ericsson as “completely the right man for our group due to the way in which he goes about racing” and revealed that he had “proven a great deal of curiosity by assembly with the group already”.

Taylor added that he had been in discussions with Button “for fairly a couple of years” however had beforehand “by no means been capable of make it occur”.

“He drove for JDC at Petit Le Mans and the connection that he is constructed with Jordan from the Storage 56 programme closes the loop on our driver lineups,” he mentioned.

“He clearly is coming from a special background, however we have had Formulation 1 drivers earlier than, and so they’ve all accomplished rather well.

“I’ve no query about his potential to do properly for us and for himself. I’m actually excited after three years to lastly get Jenson to enroll with us.”

WTR Andretti will even expand into the GTD ranks by running a Lamborghini Huracan GT3 EVO2 for its Tremendous Trofeo North America championship-winning pair Danny Formal and Kyle Marcelli.

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article