10.8 C
Wednesday, February 21, 2024

Dixon leads Cadillac 1-2 as Porsche offers chase

Must read

- Advertisement -

Sebastien Bourdais (#01 Ganassi Cadillac) took lead at first of the second hour, passing opening-hour pacesetter Ricky Taylor (#10 Wayne Taylor Racing with Andretti Acura) with ease into Flip 1.

Taylor then fell again behind Felipe Nasr’s #7 Penske Porsche 963, because it paid the penalty of its brief vitality fill and double-stint on tyres.

Perception: How virtual energy has become a defining principle in GTP

The #6 Penske Porsche 963 of Tandy charged up from final in GTP to fourth, however gave up that spot to Richard Westbrook within the buyer JDC-Miller Motorsports 963. Westbrook then handed poleman Pipo Derani (Motion Specific Caddy) for third.

Dixon (in for Bourdais) and Cameron (in for Felipe Nasr) battled for the lead after second spherical of pitstops, which was interrupted on the finish of the second hour when Steven Thomas crashed closely on the exit of the Bus Cease chicane within the #11 TDS Racing LMP2 entry.

- Advertisement -

On the restart, Louis Deletraz led the best way within the #40 WTRA Acura because of some pit technique – working some 25% much less vitality than the chasing pack – heading Dixon, Aitken (in for Derani) and Cameron.

Deletraz although was pressured to pit earlier than his opposition, handing the result in Dixon, who was 3s away from the second Cadillac of Aitken. Penske Porsches ran third and fourth after three hours, with Gianmaria Bruni fifth within the Proton-run buyer 963 and the primary of the BMWs pushed by Nick Yelloly in sixth.

Photograph by: Jake Galstad / Motorsport Images

#2 United Autosports ORECA LMP2-Gibson: Ben Keating, Nico Pino, Ben Hanley, Patricio O’Ward

United Autosports leads LMP2

Opening-hour chief George Kurtz (#04 Crowdstrike by APR) predictably fell again as class weapons Nico Pino (#2 United Autosports) and supersub Pietro Fittipaldi (#52 Inter Europol by PR1 Mathiasen) steamed previous at first of the second hour.

IndyCar ace Pato O’Ward (in for Pino within the #2) repassed the #52 of Jakub Smiechowski (in for Fittipaldi) on the restart at first of the third hour.

O’Ward led Toby Sowery (in for Kurtz) and Smiechowski after three hours of intense racing.

McLaren units the tempo in GTD discipline

Andrea Caldarelli (Iron Lynx Lamborghini) handed the remaining Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC F, the #12 pro-am entry of Aaron Telitz, in hour two to take the lead in GTD.

However it was the Professional class Pfaff Motorsports McLaren 720S of Marvin Kirchoffer who emerged because the frontrunner within the third hour, main the pro-am Lexus of Parker Thompson (in for Telitz).

Alexander Sims (Corvette) and Davide Rigon (Risi Ferrari 296) battled over third throughout this stint.

Because the hour ticked to 3, the GTD class was in the course of a pitstop cycle, so Sims technically led, forward of his Corvette team-mate Nicky Catsburg.

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article