3.9 C
Friday, March 1, 2024

Dixon’s Cadillac beats BMW in first IMSA apply

Must read

- Advertisement -

Dixon lapped Daytona Worldwide Speedway’s 3.56-mile highway course in 1m36.012s within the Cadillac V-Collection.R from Chip Ganassi Racing’s steady, in heat monitor situations for this 90-minute session.

Dries Vanthoor set the early tempo within the #24 RLL-run BMW M Hybrid V8, lapping in 1m36.828s earlier than Louis Deletraz beat him by 0.163 seconds within the #40 Wayne Taylor Racing Acura ARX-06.

Kevin Estre’s factory-entered, Penske-run #6 Porsche 963 then went P1 with 1m36.396s, earlier than Rene Rast beat that by 0.027s within the sister #25 BMW with 1m36.369s.

That mark lasted till the half distance level, when Sebastien Bourdais unleashed within the Ganassi-run Cadillac a 1m36.255s to beat Estre by 0.026s.

Bourdais’ team-mate Dixon jumped in for the ultimate moments of the session, setting quickest sector occasions in each the primary and second sections of the monitor. He elevated the #01 automotive’s benefit with a 1m36.012s, which underlines Cadillac’s credentials as a pre-race favorite.

- Advertisement -

Connor De Phillippi responded within the #25 BMW with 1m36.139s, getting inside 0.127s of Dixon.

Behind De Phillippi, Estre and Vanthoor had been Dane Cameron (#7 Penske Porsche), Jack Aitken (#31 Motion Categorical Cadillac) and Deletraz.

The #85 JDC-Miller Porsche 963 was tormented by a driver’s door that saved coming open, with Richard Westbrook setting the eighth-quickest time forward of Neel Jani’s Proton Porsche.

“I believe it was my shoulder, we made slightly tweak to the insert and I believe it was pushing the door open beneath braking,” he instructed IMSA Radio. “Good to search out this out now!”

The #10 WTRA Acura spent many of the session on excessive stands within the storage being labored on after a really temporary run. It appeared once more on the finish of the session in Felipe Albuquerque’s arms however ended slowest of the GTP runners.

Picture by: Jake Galstad / Motorsport Images

#04 CROWDSTRIKE Racing by APR ORECA LMP2-Gibson: George Kurtz, Colin Braun, Toby Sowery, Malthe Jakobsen

Toby Sowery held the highest spot in his #04 Crowdstrike by APR ORECA at 1m39.407s within the early moments of the session, a time that remained quickest all through the 90 minutes.

Ben Hanley was second quickest, by simply over a tenth, within the #2 United Autosports variant, forward of Charles Milesi (TDS) and Ryan Dalziel (Period Motorsport).

Katherine Legge was fast of the blocks within the GTD class, lapping her Gradient Racing Acura NSX in 1m46.585s, a few tenths away from Jack Hawksworth within the GTD Professional class main Lexus RC F.

Robby Foley was third quickest within the #96 Turner Motorsport BMW M4, forward of Marvin Kirchhofer’s Pfaff Motorsports McLaren 720S and the Ferrari 296s of Albert Costa (Conquest Racing) and James Calado (Risi Competizione).

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article