12.5 C
Sunday, June 16, 2024

Edgar scores first win in finale, Prema clinches groups’ title

Must read

- Advertisement -

The MP Motorsport driver lined up fourth, however was promoted to 3rd after poleman Oliver Goethe suffered a difficulty in his Trident-run automobile on the formation lap.

He then handed Prema driver Paul Aron to grab second earlier than the primary stoppage.

As soon as racing resumed, he made it previous Caio Collet (Van Amersfoort Racing) for the primary time, with the pair buying and selling the lead a number of occasions over the approaching laps.

Edgar endured three extra security automobiles and fended off a fierce problem from Zak O’Sullivan (Prema) to take his maiden win to spherical off his third season in F3, whereas O’Sullivan helped the Italian outfit to a different groups’ title.

O’Sullivan’s second-place end additionally boosts him to complete second within the standings, with Taylor Barnard taking third for Jenzer.

- Advertisement -

With Goethe having failed to start out the race, Collet led from Aron off the road, earlier than a quick contact of the gravel on the second chicane dropped the Estonian to fourth, permitting Edgar into second after a battle with champion Gabriel Bortoleto (Trident).

The primary security automobile was then deployed after MP Motorsport’s Franco Colapinto got here to a cease at Flip 5 having been compelled onto the gravel, ending his hopes of ending second within the standings.

Racing resumed on lap 4, with Edgar taking the lead for the primary time two laps later as O’Sullivan took third after Bortoleto ran up the Flip 1 escape street, falling to ninth.

The protection automobile was virtually instantly deployed once more, after ART’s Gregoire Saucy went off into the gravel at Lesmo 2.

Motion restarted on lap 9, with Aron nudged extensive by Leonardo Fornaroli (Trident) at Flip 1 and dropping him to eleventh, additionally ending his possibilities of ending second within the standings, although he recovered late on to seventh.

Fornaroli obtained a five-second penalty for the incident.

Gabriel Bortoleto, Trident

Picture by: Simon Galloway / Motorsport Images

Collet took the lead from Edgar on the restart earlier than the Briton regain management of the race on the second chicane.

Although Collet was again into the lead two laps later, Edgar as soon as once more handed him all the way down to Flip 1 on lap 13 to retake the lead, earlier than the third security automobile was deployed by Sebastian Montoya (Hitech) having been nudged into the Flip 5 gravel by team-mate Gabriele Mini.

The protection automobile ended on lap 16, with Edgar main as O’Sullivan snuck into second in an excellent transfer across the outdoors on Collet.

Marti’s race was then ended, additionally within the Flip 5 gravel, and prompting the ultimate security automobile, earlier than Roberto Faria’s PHM-run automobile additionally stopped on the pit exit.

A ultimate lap shootout noticed Edgar get a great begin to retain the lead, and regardless of Collet’s finest makes an attempt to carry on to O’Sullivan, he was then handed by Barnard.

Collet settled for fourth, with Bortoleto in fifth and Saturday dash race podium sitter Mari Boya (MP Motorsport) in sixth.

Aron was seventh, with Christian Mansell in eighth for Campos forward of the third Prema of Dino Beganovic. Rafael Villagomez accomplished the highest 10 for VAR.

F3 Monza – Characteristic race outcomes:

1 United Kingdom J. Edgar Jonny Edgar MP Motorsport 12 21       25    
2 United Kingdom Z. O’Sullivan Zak O’Sullivan Prema Powerteam 3 21 +0.200 0.200     18    

T. Barnard Taylor Barnard Jenzer Motorsport

27 21 +0.800 0.600     15    
4 Brazil C. Collet Caio Collet Van Amersfoort Racing 17 21 +1.000 0.200     12    

G. Bortoleto Gabriel Bortoleto Trident

5 21 +1.500 0.500     10   1

M. Boya Mari Boya MP Motorsport

11 21 +1.900 0.400     8    

P. Aron Paul Aron Prema Powerteam

1 21 +2.100 0.200     6    

C. Mansell Christian Mansell Campos Racing

24 21 +2.900 0.800     4    

D. Beganovic Dino Beganovic Prema Powerteam

2 21 +3.300 0.400     2    
10 Mexico R. Villagomez Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 18 21 +3.600 0.300     1    

M. Shin Michael Shin PHM Racing by Charouz

31 21 +6.100 2.500          

F. Simonazzi Francesco Simonazzi Rodin Carlin

21 21 +6.700 0.600          

N. Tsolov Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix

9 21 +6.900 0.200   1      
14 Germany S. Flörsch Sophia Flörsch PHM Racing by Charouz 29 21 +7.600 0.700          

J. Dufek Joshua Dufek Campos Racing

25 21 +7.600 0.000   1      

L. Fornaroli Leonardo Fornaroli Trident

4 21 +8.100 0.500          

O. Grey Oliver Grey Rodin Carlin

20 21 +8.400 0.300   1      

L. Browning Luke Browning Hitech Pulse-Eight

16 21 +11.200 2.800   1      

G. Minì Gabriele Minì Hitech Pulse-Eight

15 21 +21.100 9.900          

T. Smith Tommy Smith Van Amersfoort Racing

19 21 +53.900 32.800   1      
21 A. Garcia Alex Garcia Jenzer Motorsport 28 20 1 lap     1      

R. Faria Roberto Faria PHM Racing by Charouz

30 18 3 laps            

N. Bedrin Nikita Bedrin Jenzer Motorsport

26 16 5 laps     1   Retirement  

P. Martí Pepe Martí Campos Racing

23 15 6 laps         Retirement  
dnf Israel I. Cohen Ido Cohen Rodin Carlin 22 15 6 laps         Retirement  
dnf Colombia S. Montoya Sebastian Montoya Hitech Pulse-Eight 14 12 9 laps         Retirement  
dnf United States K. Frederick Kaylen Frederick ART Grand Prix 7 12 9 laps     1   Retirement  
dnf Switzerland G. Saucy Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 8 5 16 laps         Retirement  
dnf Argentina F. Colapinto Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 10 19           Retirement  

O. Goethe Oliver Goethe Trident

6 20           Retirement 2

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article