14.7 C
Monday, May 20, 2024

Engel beats BMW duo van der Linde, Wittmann to pole

Must read

- Advertisement -

Having already topped the 2 observe periods on Friday, Engel was additionally unbeaten within the 20-minute pole shootout on Saturday morning as he clinched the highest spot with a time of 1m32.585s.

Porsche’s Dennis Olsen first broke Engel’s observe benchmark, setting a time of 1m33.279s with 10 minutes to go as Manthey EMA elected to finish its flying laps early on.

Olsen’s team-mate Thomas Preining then went on prime with a 1m33.075s, however it wasn’t till the ultimate three minutes of the session {that a} driver broke the 1m33s barrier, with Engel’s team-mate Jusuf Owega lapping the circuit in 1m32.945s.

Nonetheless, Owega’s reign on prime turned out to be short-lived, with Engel discovering one other 4 tenths to grab pole. His time wouldn’t be crushed, securing the 37-year-old his first pole for the reason that Crimson Bull Ring spherical final yr and the primary pole for his Landgraf crew since its swap from ADAC GT Masters.

Reigning champion van der Linde provisionally certified second in his M4 GT3 with a time that was simply 0.030s down on Engel, however he stays underneath investigation for impeding the German in qualifying.

- Advertisement -

Second place nonetheless revered a marked turnaround for van der Linde and BMW after the South African certified nineteenth and fifteenth for the 2 races at Oschersleben.

Learn Additionally:

Two-time DTM champion Marco Wittmann validated the improved tempo of the BMW by qualifying third in his Undertaking 1-run M4, albeit 0.297s down on Engel’s chart-topping time.

Works Lamborghini driver Franck Perera ended up simply 0.001s adrift of Wittmann in fourth for SSR Efficiency.

Sheldon van der Linde, Schubert Motorsport BMW M4 GT3

Photograph by: Alexander Trienitz

Albert Costa, who’s changing Jack Aitken on the Emil Frey Racing Ferrari crew this weekend whereas the Briton is on IMSA responsibility for Cadillac at Watkins Glen, certified a robust fifth on his debut and pipped the second SSR Lamborghini of Mirko Bortolotti by 0.008s.

Owega’s time of 1m32.945s was ok for seventh on the finish, as he beat the highest Audis of Abt driver Kelvin van der Linde and Orange1 crew’s Patric Niederhauser.

Preining ended up tenth, making certain all six producers have been represented inside the highest 10.

Winward Mercedes driver Lucas Auer certified 0.543s off the tempo in twelfth behind the Bernhard Porsche of Ayhancan Guven, whereas HRT Mercedes’ Luca Stolz was even additional off the tempo in 14th.

New BMW manufacturing unit driver Dries Vanthoor, who has been referred to as by Schubert to exchange Rene Rast whereas the three-time champion is contesting the Portland Formulation E spherical, certified sixteenth for his DTM debut.

The primary 23 of the 27 drivers have been separated by only a second in a tightly-contested qualifying session on the DTM’s first go to to Zandvoort since 2018.

DTM Zandvoort: Qualifying outcomes:

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article