13 C
Saturday, May 18, 2024

European Parliament elections 2024. Who will be missing from the lists?

Must read

- Advertisement -

The European Parliament elections in Poland will take place on June 9. But it is already known that several well-known politicians will be absent from the next term of the European Parliament. Some of them have been members of this EU institution for twenty years. Some of them announced their retirement, others ran out of space on their lists.

On June 9, 2024, Poles will elect 53 MEPs, and the entire new composition of the European Parliament will consist of 720 representatives of EU countries. In recent days, political parties have presented candidates who will fight for seats in all thirteen districts. However, many famous politicians were not included on the lists, including those who represented Poland from the very beginning of its membership in the European Union.

MEPs who announced their departure or political retirement

He will no longer sit in the European Parliament Jerzy Buzek, who has been an MEP since 2004 in the 6th, 7th, 8th and 9th terms. He was also the first – and so far only – chairman of the chamber from Poland, in the years 2009-2012. April 25 MEPs said goodbye to him with applause.

- Advertisement -

He also announced his political retirement Jan Olbrycht, who sat in the European Parliament on behalf of the Civic Platform from the very beginning of Poland's membership in the EU, since 2004. Information about his resignation from running for another mandate was shared on the MP's social media.

He also announced his departure from the European Parliament Bogusław Liberadzki from the New Left, who also served in this EU institution for 20 years. “I have fulfilled all my promises. I finish my work with my head held high. Thank you for these 20 years!” – he wrote on the X platform on April 25.

SEE ALSO: They are running for the European Parliament. When will they lose their seats? Can you resign from your mandate as an MEP and return to the Sejm?

He will no longer sit in the European Parliament Leszek Miller, who ran in the previous European Parliament elections from the lists of the European Coalition. The former prime minister announced his political retirement a few months ago. In November in “Piasecki's Rozmowa” he said that “his mission has been completed” and that he is moving “to the position of a sympathetic critic”, which he will do “as a retired politician”. – I confirm that next year I will end my term in the European Parliament and retire. No politician or political force can dissuade me from this intention, he assured.

PiS MEP Tomasz Poręba he also resigned from running for the European Parliament and announced his resignation from active politics. Poręba has been an MEP since 2009. “I am leaving with my head held high and the feeling that we have achieved a lot together in recent years (…). I am leaving with a sense of pride, relief and joy. Having won all the elections and the best percentage results in Poland. On my own terms,” ​​he wrote in social media on April 22.

SEE ALSO: European Parliament elections. How many electoral districts are there? Poland is one of the exceptions

MEPs who will not be on the lists in the 2024 elections

Although some of the remaining current MEPs have not announced their departure from politics, they will not run in the European elections anyway because there is no place for them on the lists.

“Gazeta Wyborcza” reports that professors will not take part for this reason Zdzisław Krasnodębski and Ryszard Legutko. “It is said in the party that the so-called professors' faction is criticized for excessive radicalism, academic speculations, lack of vigor and potential to fight for a new electorate,” the newspaper writes. Krasnodębski has been a member of the European Parliament since 2014, while Legutko has been a member of the European Parliament since 2009 and was also co-chairman of the European Conservatives and Reformists (ECR) faction. – This is my decision. No one took it for me, Legutko said in an interview with PAP, referring to his resignation from running.

He will not run in the elections either Sylwia Spurek. According to “Gazeta Wyborcza”, the Wiosna MEP is harmed by “proposals that are too radical for many voters – such as a ban on meat advertising or imposing special excise taxes on animal products”, which “makes her unwelcome on the lists of the Left or the Civic Coalition.” Spurek herself claims that she personally decided not to run for re-election.

She also did not find on the lists for the European Parliament, among others: Janina Ochojska, who learned from the media that she would not take part. Also not taking part are: PiS MEPs – Andżelika Możdżanowska, Beata Mazurek Whether Elizabeth Kruk. In an interview with PAP, the PiS provincial secretary in the province. Marek Wojciechowski said that his information shows that Kruk wanted to end her political career. – We don't know what caused Beata Mazurek not to be on the list. We decided that when it comes to current MEPs, the party headquarters will decide whether they will continue their mission, he said.

SEE ALSO: European Parliament elections 2024. Which country will have the most MEPs and how does Poland fare?

tvn24.pl, PAP, “Gazeta Wyborcza”

Main photo source: Jarek Praszkiewicz, Jakub Kaczmarczyk, Jakub Kamiński/PAP

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article