12.5 C
Sunday, June 16, 2024

European Parliament elections. Grzegorz Braun became an MEP

Must read

- Advertisement -

Grzegorz Braun became an MEP from the Confederation list in constituency 10 (Lesser Poland and Świętokrzyskie). The politician running in second place received nearly 114,000 votes of support. This was the best result of a candidate from the Confederation's lists in all of Poland. Compared to 2019, he gained over 80,000 votes.

Grzegorz Braun started from the second place on the Confederation's list in district 10, and Berkowicz – from the first place. According to official data provided by the National Electoral Commission, the politician known for his anti-EU views will go to Brussels from the district covering Małopolska and Świętokrzyskie. Nearly 113,746 voters voted for him. Over 81,718 people voted for the “number one” of the Confederation – Konrad Berkowicz.

Read also: Grzegorz Braun grabbed a fire extinguisher in the Sejm and extinguished the Hanukkah candles. “Maximum penalty”

berkowicz braunPiotr Polak, Radek Pietruszka/PAP

- Advertisement -

Read also: The biggest losers of the European elections. They didn't win a seat.

President vs. vice president

Grzegorz Braun, who is the president of the party Confederation Korona Polska started in elections to the European Parliament a second time. He did not win a seat in 2019. The politician, then running from the Podkarpackie district, obtained over 33,000 votes, but his committee did not exceed the electoral threshold. Now he has collected over 80,000 more votes.

Braun does not hide his anti-EU views. In the past, he called the EU a “Euro-kolkhoz” and “the work of Satan.”

Read also: Grzegorz Braun took down the Ukrainian flag from the museum's mast. There is a reaction from the police and the voivode

Beata SzydłoPAP/Art Service

Read also: 49 votes decided that he would not become an MEP from last place

Seven seats from district 10

In the Lesser Poland-Świętokrzyskie constituency (no. 10), the following people received seats in the European Parliament: Beata Szydło, Dominik Tarczyński and Arkadiusz Mularczyk – PIS. Bartłomiej Sienkiewicz and Jagna Marczulajtis-Walczak – KO. Grzegorz Braun – Konfederacja and Adam Jarubas – Third Way. The best individual result in the district was achieved by Beata Szydło from PiS, who was running for re-election – over 285,000 voters voted for her. The result is much worse than in 2019, when Szydło won over 525,000 votes. The second place in terms of the number of votes in the Lesser Poland and Świętokrzyskie voivodeships was taken by former Minister of Culture Bartłomiej Sienkiewicz from KO – over 254,000 voters voted for him.

Dominik Tarczyński from PiS also won over 200,000 votes. The next result on the constituency scale was achieved by Grzegorz Braun from Confederation – 113,746. The Małopolska-Świętokrzyskie constituency in Brussels will also be represented by Arkadiusz Mularczyk from PiS – 93,551. Adam Jarubas (Trzecia Droga) secured another term in the European Parliament. For vice president PSL 81,674 voters voted. KO's candidate Jagna Marczulajtis-Walczak also won the mandate to the European Parliament, gaining 58,550 votes. This means that in district no. 10, PiS won three seats, KO – two, and Confederation and Trzecia Droga one each.

Main photo source: Radek Pietruszka/PAP

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article