4.7 C
Tuesday, November 28, 2023

FIA GT World Cup confirms all 5 former winners on Macau line-up

Must read

- Advertisement -

Raffaele Marciello, winner of the latest version of the race on the System 3 Grand Prix weekend in 2019, shall be joined by fellow Mercedes driver Maro Engel, Porsche’s Laurens Vanthoor, BMW racer Augusto Farfus and Edoardo Mortara on the 21-car grid on the sixth operating of the occasion on 18/19 November. 

The World Cup for GT3 equipment on the Macau Guia road circuit has been revived for this yr, together with the F3 GP, after a hiatus ensuing from the COVID pandemic and journey restrictions into China. 

Marciello will race for the Landgraf group with which he received final yr’s ADAC GT Masters title. 

Engel, who claimed the inaugural World Cup in 2015, will end up in a Mercedes-AMG GT3 run by the Craft-Bamboo group with which he received the Macau GT3 race final yr when it didn’t have World Cup standing. 

Vanthoor, who received the race in 2016 for Audi in dramatic style when he completed the World Cup ultimate on his roof, will drive a Porsche 911 GT3 R for the Toro Racing group, an everyday in Porsche Carrera Cup Asia. 

- Advertisement -

Edoardo Mortara, whose 2017 World Cup victory counts as one among six throughout the F3 and GT3 races, will drive an Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo II for the pan-Asian Absolute squad. 

The German Rowe Racing group will area a BMW M4 GT4 for Augusto Farfus, who took World Cup honours in 2018. 

Picture by: Sam Bagnall / Motorsport Images

Edoardo Mortara, Maserati Racing

Marciello mentioned: “Macau is at all times particular, even final yr when it wasn’t the World Cup. 

“For certain, it [2019] was one among my largest victories: I at all times needed to win Macau, so be capable to win it was particular. 

“This yr is not going to be simple; the competitors shall be actually excessive, however we go there and to do our greatest to attempt to win it once more.” 

Engel, who first received the Macau GT race the yr earlier than it turned the World Cup, described the occasion “as an absolute spotlight of the racing season”.

“It’s a spectacular occasion, a tremendous monitor that I like, have at all times loved and have had nice success on. 

“I’ve been capable of have a good time many nice achievements there and I’ll attempt to repeat the victory from final yr.” 

Farfus, whose victory in 2018 got here with the Schnitzer group, echoed Engel’s sentiments, calling Macau a “magical place”.  

#999 Mercedes-AMG Team Gruppe M Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3: Daniel Juncadella

Picture by: SRO

#999 Mercedes-AMG Crew Gruppe M Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3: Daniel Juncadella

Mercedes shall be represented by 4 manufacturing facility drivers, with Daniel Juncadella, winner of the F3 GP in 2011, and Macau rookie Jules Gounon respectively lining up with Craft-Bamboo and the Chinese language Climax Racing squads. 

BMW’s two-car line-up is accomplished by 2022 DTM champion Sheldon van der Linde in an M4 entered by WRT, winner of the World Cup with Vanthoor in 2016. 

An additional two full manufacturing facility drivers from Porsche will participate in GT3 race on the two-weekend seventieth anniversary operating of the Macau GP, with World Endurance Championship driver Kevin Estre and new DTM champion Thomas Preining are each turning out with the Taiwanese HubAuto squad.

Porsche-contracted Matteo Cairoli will race a GT3 R for Absolute, whereas two-time Le Mans 24 Hours winner Earl Bamber will drive a automotive entered by his eponymous group beneath the D2 Racing Crew banner. 

Mortara is joined at Absolute in a second R8 by Audi manufacturing facility driver Christopher Haase. 

The solo Ferrari 296 GT3 on the World Cup has been entered by Chinese language group Concord Racing for manufacturing facility driver Daniel Serra. 

Different notable names on the entry embody Alessio Picariello and native drivers Congfu ‘Franky’ Cheng, Marchy Lee and Adderley Fong 

The FIA GT World Cup will awarded to the winner of a one-hour race forward of the F3 GP on Sunday, 19 November 

The grid for the primary race shall be determined by a one-hour qualifying occasion on the Saturday.

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article