10.5 C
Thursday, February 29, 2024

FIA publishes new 2024 WRC factors system

Must read

- Advertisement -

Affirmation that the WRC will embrace a brand new factors construction so as to boost the ultimate day of occasions was ratified on the World Motor Sport Council in Baku earlier this month.

Now the FIA has printed the WRC’s 2024 sporting rules which embody the precise particulars of the brand new factors construction. 

Underneath the brand new system, the sliding scale of 18-15-13-10-8-6-4-3-2-1 factors can be awarded on the finish of Saturday’s remaining classification, however provided that a crew reaches the ultimate classification of the rally on the finish of Sunday.

If a crew fails to complete on Sunday, the Saturday factors can be awarded to the subsequent best-placed pairing.

The largest change sees championship factors now awarded particularly on Sunday’s efficiency. The prime cause for the introduction of this factors system is to stop drivers from cruising by Sunday’s levels preserving tyres for the end-of-rally Energy Stage.

- Advertisement -

Opponents will do battle for a most of seven factors on Sunday. Factors can be awarded as follows to the highest seven rivals by way of the next sliding scale; 7-6-5-4-3-2-1.

The Energy Stage will stay unchanged with the highest 5 quickest drivers receiving bonus factors, 5 factors being the utmost.

If a driver completes an ideal rally they are going to proceed to attain a complete of 30 factors as per the earlier rules.

Picture by: McKlein / McMaster

Thierry Neuville (BEL), Hyundai World Rally Staff, Hyundai i20 N Rally1

The winner of the rally will nonetheless be declared on general time for the entire occasion, however in concept, a driver can win the rally regardless of not scoring the complete seven factors on the Sunday.

A competitor might additionally theoretically rating extra factors than the rally winner.

“For the World Rally Championships for Producers, for Drivers and for Co-Drivers, factors can be awarded for every rally making an allowance for the overall classification after Saturday (with all -time penalties accrued till and together with the ultimate time management on Saturday) in line with the next scale 1st: 18 factors 2nd: 15 factors third: 13 factors 4th: 10 factors fifth: 8 factors sixth: 6 factors seventh 4 factors eighth: 3 factors ninth: 2 factors tenth: 1 level To attain factors, the crew should be labeled within the Ultimate Classification of the rally. If a crew shouldn’t be labeled within the Ultimate Classification of the rally, the subsequent Competitor(s) can be moved as much as rating factors,” the FIA sporting rules state.

“For the World Rally Championships for Producers, for Drivers and for Co-Drivers, further factors as per the next scale can be awarded in line with an collected basic classification of Sunday solely, comprising the half from the primary time management after the in a single day regroup as much as and together with the ultimate time management of the competitors aspect of the rally (with all time penalties accrued on this a part of the competitors). 1st: 7 factors 2nd: 6 factors third: 5 factors 4th: 4 factors fifth: 3 factors sixth: 2 factors seventh: 1 level.”

The sporting rules now additionally allow Rally1 vehicles to compete and not using a hybrid unit however they will not be eligible to attain producer championship factors and should run with a dummy hybrid unit that’s mounted in the identical place and weighs the identical as a working hybrid unit.

There has additionally been an modification to the engine change rules, which now states: “Within the case of engine failure between the top of pre-rally scrutineering and the top of the Rally, it’s permitted to exchange the broken engine offered that the variety of engines approved in article 17.1.1 shouldn’t be exceeded.”

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article