5.7 C
Saturday, March 2, 2024

Freddie Slater named Autosport’s Nationwide driver of the Yr

Must read

- Advertisement -

The 15-year-old dominated the Ginetta Junior championship, profitable 16 races from 21 begins earlier than making a profitable swap to single-seater racing in Components 4.

Autosport readers have voted Slater the very best Nationwide driver of the season, forward of British Touring Automobile Championship stars Ash Sutton and Tom Ingram, and British GT champion Dan Harper.

Slater’s victory was introduced on 3 December on the Autosport Awards at Grosvenor Home on Park Lane.

“I’m making an attempt by finest in the intervening time, making an attempt to interrupt some information! I used to be in Abu Dhabi and it was superb to see it [F1] and it gave me even higher drive. Thanks to everybody who made this potential,” Slater mentioned, who was introduced the award by 2022 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Younger Driver of the Yr Award winner Luke Browning.

BTCC drivers usually dominate the award, which is open to drivers competing within the BTCC and British GT, plus assist classes and equal. A number of tin-top champions Jason Plato, Matt Neal, Gordon Shedden, Colin Turkington and Sutton are all former winners.

- Advertisement -

Different earlier winners embody Martin Brundle, Johnny Herbert, David Coulthard, Takuma Sato and Lando Norris – who all took the prize throughout their junior careers on the best way to F1.

Different classes determined by fan voting embody Worldwide Racing Driver of the Yr introduced by Pirelli, British Competitors Driver of the Yr, Rookie of the Yr, Rally Driver of the Yr and Worldwide Competitors Automobile of the Yr.

Additional awards, determined by skilled judging panels, embody the Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Younger Driver of the Yr Award, the Autosport Williams Engineer of the Future Award, the Autosport Gold Medal incorporating the Gregor Grant Award for lifetime legacy, the John Bolster Trophy for technical achievement, the Pioneering and Innovation Award, Second of the Yr, and Promoter of the Yr. A brand new award for 2023 is Model Partnership of the Yr.

To seek out out who our different Award winners are, go to autosport.com/awards

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article