25.2 C
London
Monday, June 24, 2024

Google Maps is making an enormous privateness change to guard your location historical past

Must read

- Advertisement -


Google Maps is altering the way in which it handles your location knowledge. As a substitute of backing up your knowledge to the cloud, Google will quickly retailer it domestically in your machine.

In an electronic mail despatched to customers, Google says you have until December 1st to save lots of all of your travels to your cellular machine earlier than it begins deleting your {old} knowledge. Timeline — beforehand referred to as Location Historical past — is the function that tracks your routes and journeys based mostly in your telephone’s location, permitting you to revisit all of the locations you’ve been up to now.

The transition to on-device storage additionally implies that you’ll not be capable to entry your Timeline from the net in December. Should you don’t allow the brand new Timeline settings by then, Google will try to maneuver the previous 90 days of your journey historical past to the primary machine you check in to Google on. The corporate will then delete any knowledge older than that.

If you wish to maintain utilizing Timeline, open Google Maps in your cellular machine, click on in your profile image within the top-right nook of the display, and select Your Timeline. From there, choose whether or not to maintain you wish to maintain your location knowledge till you manually delete it or have Google auto-delete it after three, 18, or 36 months. Google will retailer the knowledge you wish to maintain in your machine.



Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article