-0.4 C
Saturday, December 2, 2023

Graham Rahal takes first pole in six years

Must read

- Advertisement -

Rahal lapped in 1m10.1132s and can begin forward of team-mate Christian Lundgaard and Alexander Rossi of Arrow McLaren.

It wasn’t a fantastic qualifying for championship frontrunners Alex Palou, who will begin from the fifth row in ninth place, and Josef Newgarden, who will begin down in 19th after he didn’t make it previous Q1.

Quick Six qualifying

Devlin DeFrancesco set the early tempo at 1m10.8193s however Lundgaard beat that with 1m10.5858s with the primary lap of his second run. Rossi and Pato O’Ward then took turns at P1, earlier than Lundgaard unleashed 1m10.2286s to wrest it again.

However Rahal wouldn’t be denied, producing 1m10.1132s for his first pole place in six years.

Lundgaard will begin alongside him, forward of the Arrow McLaren duo of Rossi and O’Ward, and the Andretti Autosport entries of DeFranceso and Romain Grosjean.

- Advertisement -

High 12 qualifying

Rahal grabbed the quickest lap on his last lap of the session with 1m09.9837s, forward of Lundgaard, Rossi, Grosjean, O’Ward and DeFrancesco.

Falling at this hurdle have been Marcus Armstrong (Ganassi), Jack Harvey (RLLR – who has a six-place grid penalty), Alex Palou (Ganassi), Felix Rosenqvist (McLaren), Scott McLaughlin (Penske) and Helio Castroneves (Meyer Shank Racing – who additionally has a six-place grid penalty).

Group stage qualifying

In Group 1, DeFrancesco was quickest with a time of 1m10.2805s, forward of Harvey, O’Ward, McLaughlin, Rossi and Rosenqvist.

However the huge information was title contender Newgarden lacking the minimize, and he was solely 10th quickest.

Lacking out have been Colton Herta (Andretti), team-mate Kyle Kirkwood, Will Power (Penske) and team-mate Newgarden, Santino Ferrucci (AJ Foyt Racing) and the Dale Coyne Racing automobiles of David Malukas (who has a six-place grid penalty) and Sting Ray Robb.

In Group 2, Lundgaard set the quickest time at 1m10.0031s from Rahal, Grosjean, Castroneves, Palou and Armstrong.

Making no additional progress have been Linus Lundqvist (MSR), Scott Dixon (Ganassi), Marcus Ericsson (Ganassi), Ed Carpenter Racing’s Rinus VeeKay and Ryan Hunter-Reay, Juncos Hollinger Racing’s Agustin Canapino and Callum Ilott, and Benjamin Pedersen (Foyt).

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article