25.2 C
Monday, June 24, 2024

Graham Rahal takes pole, Newgarden crashes

Must read

- Advertisement -

Rahal put down a flying lap of 58.3195s to finest the 27-car subject on the 1.964-mile, 12-turn circuit. It’s the second time this season Rahal has captured the highest spot, which he final achieved in 2009.

Rahal set his pole-winning time on a set of main, black sidewall tyres and regardless of the opposite 5 drivers swapping to alternate, crimson sidewall tyres, nobody was in a position to dethrone Rahal.

The perfect of the remaining was Team Penske’s Scott McLaughlin, who was 0.033s off the tempo.

Andretti Autosport’s Colton Herta certified third, adopted by the Chip Ganassi Racing duo of Scott Dixon and Alex Palou. Arrow McLaren’s Pato O’Ward closed out the group’s operating in sixth.

The highest 12 session was interrupted by a crimson flag lower than three minutes in after Josef Newgarden buried his #2 Workforce Penske Chevrolet into the tyre obstacles at Flip 12.

- Advertisement -

The Tennessee native, who admitted it was self-inflicted, dropped his left aspect wheels into the grime on the exit of Flip 11, which resulted in a damaged steering gear-shifter. It put an finish to his qualifying effort and he’ll begin twelfth.

Upon the resumption, McLaughlin went quickest at 58.0777s, adopted by Herta, O’Ward, Dixon, Palou and Rahal.

Past Newgarden, others that did not make it by included his team-mate, Will Power, who missed the minimize by 0.0531s. Energy will begin seventh.

Callum Ilott (Juncos Hollinger Racing), Alexander Rossi (Arrow McLaren), Marcus Ericsson (Chip Ganassi Racing) and Felix Rosenqvist (Arrow McLaren) additionally didn’t make it by.

Rosenqvist reported a difficulty and wasn’t in a position to make a ultimate try to advance.

Alex Palou, Chip Ganassi Racing Honda

Picture by: Jake Galstad / Motorsport Images

Within the Group 1 stage of qualifying, Rahal set the quickest time on the first tyres at a lap of 58.3956s. Nonetheless, the swap to alternate tyres instantly sparked a rotation on the prime, which ended with Rosenqvist on the prime by session’s finish with a quick lap of 57.8967s – which stood because the quickest lap of the day general.

Herta and Newgarden got here throughout second and third, respectively. Others to advance had been Rahal, Energy and Ilott.

Ed Carpenter Racing’s Rinus VeeKay was the primary that did not advance, operating a 58.3240s lap that left him thirteenth on Sunday. Romain Grosjean was left upset about site visitors as soon as he completed up his run, with the Andretti Autosport driver set to start out fifteenth.

Regardless of being quickest in Friday’s opening observe, and fast on Saturday’s second observe, RLL’s Christian Lundgaard ended up on the fallacious finish of the minimize line, ending up ninth within the group and with a Seventeenth-place begin.

Ryan Hunter-Reay (Ed Carpenter Racing), Devlin DeFrancesco (Andretti Steinbrenner Autosport), Santino Ferrucci (AJ Foyt Racing) and Sting Ray Robb (Dale Coyne Racing) had been the remaining that did not advance.

In Group 2, championship chief Palou made his presence felt on each the first and alternate compounds by going quickest on each variations of rubber. The Spaniard’s finest run got here on alternates, jetting to a flying lap of 57.9651s.

McLaughlin, the defending race winner who led Saturday morning’s observe bout, was second. O’Ward was third, adopted by Dixon. Rossi acquired into the highest six in fifth, adopted by one other Ganassi challenger within the type of Ericsson.

Chip Ganassi Racing rookie Marcus Armstrong was the primary driver out of the second group to not advance, lacking by 0.07s. He’ll begin 14th.

Juri Vips, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda

Juri Vips, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda

Picture by: Jake Galstad / Motorsport Images

Kyle Kirkwood (Andretti Autosport) additionally failed to maneuver on, ending up eighth within the operating and can begin sixteenth.

Juri Vips, who’s making his IndyCar debut with RLL, had an eventful run, lacking the apex in Flip 1 and sliding over the curbing within the run-off space at Flip 2 earlier than rejoining the circuit in Flip 3. The Estonian’s maiden qualifying bout was a decent sufficient on tempo that can see him begin 18th.

Rookie Augustin Canapino (Juncos Hollinger Racing), Helio Castroneves (Meyer Shank Racing), David Malukas (Dale Coyne Racing with HMD), together with rookies Benjamin Pedersen (AJ Foyt Racing) and Tom Blomqvist (Meyer Shank Racing) did not progress into the highest 12.

IndyCar Portland – Qualifying outcomes



Q1 G2

Q1 G1

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article