21.2 C
Sunday, July 21, 2024

Herta paces second observe amid three pink flags

Must read

- Advertisement -

Andretti World’s Colton Herta led the way in which in a second observe session for the IndyCar Collection that was blighted by three pink flags on Saturday morning at Laguna Seca.

A two-time former winner, Herta took the highest spot with a stout flying lap of 1m08.230s across the 2.238-mile, 11-turn pure terrain street course, having additionally positioned second within the Friday night’s opening observe.

“It feels very nice,” Herta stated. “It felt good on reds (softer alternate tyres) yesterday, I felt good on blacks (tougher main tyres) as we speak.

“I believe we’re in a great spot. We don’t have to do a lot and we needs to be good (for qualifying).”

Team Penske’s Will Power took second, lapping 0.196s behind the mark set by Herta.

- Advertisement -

Reigning and two-time IndyCar Collection champion Alex Palou, one other former winner on the circuit primarily based close to Monterey, California, was third at 0.208s behind.

Workforce Penske’s Scott McLaughlin, who led opening observe, was fourth, forward of Arrow McLaren’s Pato O’Ward.

Christian Rasmussen, Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet

Photograph by: Josh Tons / Motorsport Images

The primary pink flag was introduced out lower than 5 minutes into the 45-minute session after rookie Christian Rasmussen went off and thru the gravel, with a portion of the backend of his No. 20 Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet hitting the Flip 10 tyre barrier and snapping again to hit the left-front of the automotive.

Regardless of solely working three laps, he was fast sufficient to carry 14th place out of 27 automobiles.

“I believe the rear simply type of stepped out after which we simply tank slapped out in the direction of the wall,” Rasmussen stated. “Actually sucked.

“I really feel like we wanted that point within the automotive and I’m simply sorry for the boys to should put the automotive collectively earlier than qualifying now. Not what we needed to do right here as we speak.”

Shortly after the session resumed, Arrow McLaren’s Alexander Rossi went to the highest of the leaderboard with a 1m08.615s lap, which dethroned Andretti World’s Kyle Kirkwood.

Meyer Shank Racing’s Felix Rosenqvist and Chip Ganassi Racing’s Alex Palou produced fast laps however solely sufficient to go second and third quickest with 35 minutes left, which dropped Kirkwood to fourth.

One other pink flag got here out with slightly below 32 minutes to go when Sting Ray Robb’s No. 41 AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet ended up stranded within the gravel entice on the prime of the Corkscrew.

As soon as the session resumed as soon as once more, the likes of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Marcus Armstrong bounced into third.

Nonetheless, the highest spot modified palms with 22 minutes remaining after O’Ward held on to a few wild moments to push out a 1m08.549s flying lap.

With lower than 20 minutes to go, the working order was O’Ward, Rossi, Kirkwood, Armstrong and Herta.

Herta propelled to first with roughly 16 minutes to go after nailing a fast lap of 1m08.230s, with Palou following with a 1m08.438s run to go second.

Energy, who endured a few off-track moments all through the session, was capable of put collectively sufficient of a lap and vault to second at 1m08.4261s.

A 3rd pink flag got here out with simply over 10 minutes remaining after rookie Kyffin Simpson spun and stalled within the gravel entice on the exit of Flip 9.

The working order remained unchanged on the prime the remainder of the way in which.

Cla   Nº   Driver   Automotive / Engine   Time   Delay   Laps 
26 Colton Herta Dallara/Honda 1’08.2300   21
12 Will Energy Dallara/Chevrolet 1’08.4261 0.1961 27
10 Alex Palou Dallara/Honda 1’08.4387 0.2087 25
3 Scott McLaughlin Dallara/Chevrolet 1’08.4602 0.2302 27
5 Patricio O’Ward Dallara/Chevrolet 1’08.4679 0.2379 12
9 Scott Dixon Dallara/Honda 1’08.5235 0.2935 26
60 Felix Rosenqvist Dallara/Honda 1’08.5324 0.3024 23
7 Alexander Rossi Dallara/Chevrolet 1’08.6153 0.3853 27
27 Kyle Kirkwood Dallara/Honda 1’08.6319 0.4019 22
10  11 Marcus Armstrong Dallara/Honda 1’08.6590 0.4290 24
11  28 Marcus Ericsson Dallara/Honda 1’08.8245 0.5945 23
12  77 Romain Grosjean Dallara/Chevrolet 1’08.8992 0.6692 26
13  45 C.Lundgaard Dallara/Honda 1’08.9225 0.6925 25
14  20 C.Rasmussen Dallara/Chevrolet 1’08.9812 0.7512 3
15  4 Kyffin Simpson Dallara/Honda 1’08.9926 0.7626 21
16  15 Graham Rahal Dallara/Honda 1’09.0126 0.7826 28
17  8 Linus Lundqvist Dallara/Honda 1’09.1272 0.8972 28
18  14 Santino Ferrucci Dallara/Chevrolet 1’09.1512 0.9212 24
19  2 Josef Newgarden Dallara/Chevrolet 1’09.2583 1.0283 24
20  66 David Malukas Dallara/Honda 1’09.4340 1.2040 26
21  18 Jack Harvey Dallara/Honda 1’09.4664 1.2364 24
22  41 Sting Ray Robb Dallara/Chevrolet 1’09.4862 1.2562 18
23  30 P.Fittipaldi Dallara/Honda 1’09.5019 1.2719 22
24  78 Agustín Canapino Dallara/Chevrolet 1’09.5311 1.3011 24
25  21 R.van Kalmthout Dallara/Chevrolet 1’09.5780 1.3480 21
26  6 Nolan Siegel Dallara/Chevrolet 1’09.7252 1.4952 28
27  51 Luca Ghiotto Dallara/Honda 1’09.8185 1.5885 26

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article