13.6 C
Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Hickman smashes 134mph barrier as apply week ends

Must read

- Advertisement -

FHO Racing rider Hickman, chasing so as to add to his tally of 13 TT wins this yr, holds the outright lap file of 136.358mph set in final yr’s second Superstock race.

Having encountered a problem on that bike earlier on Friday’s bumper qualifying day, Hickman elected to start Friday night’s Superbike/Superstock session on his inventory BMW.

On tempo for a 133mph lap from a standing begin on his opening tour of the 37.75-mile TT course, Hickman outbraked himself at Signpost in the direction of the tip of the lap.

Carrying on for a flying lap, Hickman lit up the timing splits and produced a 134.638mph effort on his inventory bike to finish apply week quickest of all.

As a consequence of Thursday’s qualifying motion being cancelled on account of a street visitors accident, Friday’s operating was prolonged to incorporate periods within the afternoon and the night.

- Advertisement -

A two-lap qualifying session for Superbike/Superstock has been added to Saturday’s race day schedule at 10:30am because of the disruption.

Coming into Friday’s operating, TAS Racing’s Davey Todd – searching for his first TT win – was the rider to beat having topped Wednesday’s motion with a 131.821mph lap.

Todd raised the bar considerably on Friday afternoon within the Superbike/Superstock session, posting a 133.942mph lap on his BMW Superbike – his quickest ever on the TT.

Davey Todd, TAS Racing BMW

Picture by: iomtt.com

He headed Hickman within the Superbike standings within the afternoon, with the FHO Racing rider sitting on a 133.851mph, whereas Michael Dunlop accomplished the highest three on his Hawk Racing Honda at 132.728mph.

Dean Harrison was fourth within the afternoon on his Honda Superbike with a 132.143mph lap, with the 2019 Senior TT winner enduring a disrupted week on that bike.

Within the Superstock standings, Dunlop led the best way at 132.135mph on his MD Racing Honda, with Harrison second on 131.293mph and Craig Neve at 129.448mph.

Hickman and FHO team-mate Josh Brookes didn’t full laps on their Superstock BMWs within the afternoon on account of a problem.

With motion resuming once more at 6:30pm native time on Friday night, no one might higher Hickman as his 134.638mph lap stood because the benchmark.

Hickman accomplished two laps on his Superstock BMW earlier than switching to his Superbike for a last tour within the session, with the 13-time TT winner going third general with a 132.863mph effort.

Todd was Hickman’s nearest challenger, setting his greatest lap of the night – a 132.976mph lap – on his Superstock BMW, with Dunlop posting the fourth-fastest lap general at 132.674mph on his Superstock Honda.

Honda’s Harrison held the fifth quickest lap of the night at 132.596mph, which marked his better of the TT thus far. Dunlop’s 132.399mph lap on his Superbike was the sixth-best of the night.

Michael Dunlop, Hawk Racing Honda

Michael Dunlop, Hawk Racing Honda

Picture by: iomtt.com

Within the Supersport class, Todd set the tempo on his Powertoolmate Ducati V2 with a 127.062mph, beating James Hind and Michael Evans, with Harrison and Hickman finishing the highest 5.

Dunlop was a noticeable absence from the Supersport timesheets on Friday night as he elected to give attention to his Supertwin machine in that session.

He holds the perfect Supersport lap of the week thus far at 127.649mph, set on Friday afternoon on a Yamaha R6 having discarded the Triumph he began the occasion on.

Dunlop led the Supertwin leaderboard at 121.882mph on his Paton, besting Jamie Coward, whereas Hickman was third on Friday night forward of Todd and Mike Browne.

Isle of Man TT 2024: General prime 10 after Friday qualifying

1. Peter Hickman, BMW, 134.638mph (Superstock)
2. Davey Todd, BMW, 133.942mph (Superbike)
3. Michael Dunlop, Honda, 132.728mph (Superbike)
4. Dean Harrison, Honda, 132.596mph (Superbike)
5. Josh Brookes, BMW, 131.509mph (Superbike)
6. John McGuinness, Honda, 130.745mph (Superbike)
7. David Johnson, Kawasaki, 130.283mph (Superbike)
8. James Hillier, Honda, 130.048mph (Superstock)
9. Jamie Coward, Honda, 130.024mph (Superstock)
10. Mike Browne, Aprilia, 129.171mph (Superstock)

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article