19.5 C
Saturday, June 22, 2024

How the two-day qualifying system works in 2024

Must read

- Advertisement -

Qualifying commences at 11am ET (4pm BST) on Saturday 18 Might. Every automotive is given a single, four-lap run to set a median velocity – and goes in an order chosen by random draw on Friday evening (listed on the backside of this story).

When each automotive within the qualifying order for Saturday has had at the least one probability to qualify, groups might select from two lanes on the finish of the pits for subsequent makes an attempt.

Automobiles within the Precedence Lane (Lane 1) should withdraw their certified time however get precedence entry to the observe forward of Lane 2. That second lane is for automobiles which have already certified and wish to attempt to enhance their place however select to not danger forfeiting the velocity common they’ve already set.

The quickest 12 drivers will progress to contest the entrance 4 rows of three. The 4 drivers who will squabble over the three slots on the final row can even have been outlined.

On Sunday 19 Might, from noon (5pm BST) the dozen drivers nonetheless within the combat for pole will get a one-hour observe session, and this can be instantly adopted by an hour’s observe for the determined quartet as a result of battle during the last row.

- Advertisement -

Felix Rosenqvist, Meyer Shank Racing Honda

Photograph by: Phillip Abbott / Motorsport Images

Sunday’s Indy 500 qualifying format

From 3:05pm native time (8:05pm BST) comes High 12 qualifying, by which positions seventh by Twelfth can be decided.

Their operating order is predicated on Saturday occasions, slowest to quickest, and every automotive is assured one try. The quickest of the six then advance to the Firestone Quick Six shootout.

At 4:15pm native time (9:15pm BST), the 4 Final Probability Qualifiers will compete for positions 31-33 – there are 34 entries for this yr’s race, so somebody goes residence on Sunday evening.

The automotive’s most up-to-date qualification velocity will stay eligible for the beginning line-up till the time is withdrawn or {qualifications} finish.

At 5:25pm native time (10:25pm BST) comes the Firestone Quick Six shootout for pole place within the 108th operating of ‘The Biggest Spectacle in Racing’.

Positions 1-6 can be decided and the operating order is predicated on occasions from high 12 qualifying, slowest to quickest. Every automotive is assured one try.

The highest 12 drivers on the beginning grid will obtain IndyCar Collection factors, with the pole winner incomes 12, the second quickest 11, down to 1 level for the Twelfth-placed starter.

Ed Carpenter, Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet

Ed Carpenter, Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet

Photograph by: Phillip Abbott / Motorsport Images

Saturday qualifying order

1 Kyle Kirkwood – #27 Andretti International Honda

2 Scott McLaughlin -#3 Team Penske Chevrolet

3 Kyffin Simpson – #4 Chip Ganassi Racing Honda

4 Rinus VeeKay – #21 Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet

5 Romain Grosjean – #77 Juncos Hollinger Racing Chevrolet

6 Kyle Larson – #17 McLaren-Hendrick Chevrolet

7 Agustin Canapino – #78 Juncos Hollinger Racing Chevrolet

8 Callum Ilott – #6 Arrow McLaren Chevrolet

9 Will Power – #12 Crew Penske Chevrolet

10 Josef Newgarden – #2 Crew Penske Chevrolet

11 Marcus Armstrong – #11 Chip Ganassi Racing Honda

12 Nolan Siegel – #18 Dale Coyne Racing Honda

13 Santino Ferrucci – #14 A.J. Foyt Enterprises Chevrolet

14 Christian Lundgaard – #45 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda

15 Marcus Ericsson – #28 Andretti International Honda

16 Linus Lundqvist – #8 Chip Ganassi Racing Honda

17 Marco Andretti – #98 Andretti Herta with Marco and Curb-Agajanian Honda

18 Ed Carpenter – #20 Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet

19 Katherine Legge – #51 Dale Coyne Racing with Rick Ware Racing Honda

20 Conor Daly – #24 Dreyer & Reinbold Racing Chevrolet

21 Pietro Fittipaldi – #30 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda

22 Tom Blomqvist – #66 Meyer Shank Racing Honda

23 Pato O’Ward – #5 Arrow McLaren Chevrolet

24 Felix Rosenqvist – #60 Meyer Shank Racing Honda

25 Alex Palou – #10 Chip Ganassi Racing Honda

26 Takuma Sato – #75 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda

27 Scott Dixon – #9 Chip Ganassi Racing Honda

28 Sting Ray Robb – #41 A.J. Foyt Enterprises Chevrolet

29 Colton Herta – #26 Andretti International with Curb-Agajanian Honda

30 Ryan Hunter-Reay – #23 Dreyer & Reinbold Racing Chevrolet

31 Christian Rasmussen – #33 Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet

32 Graham Rahal – #15 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda

33 Helio Castroneves – #06 Meyer Shank Racing Honda

34 Alexander Rossi – #7 Arrow McLaren Chevrolet

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article