17.3 C
Tuesday, June 25, 2024

International Court of Justice: 32 countries joined Ukraine’s complaint against Russia

Must read

- Advertisement -

The International Court of Justice in The Hague announced the acceptance of declarations of intervention from 32 countries in the Ukraine v Russia case. This is the largest number of countries that join another country’s complaint in the history of this body.

In a complaint filed by Ukraine two days after the start of the armed invasion by RussiaMoscow was accused of violating the convention UN on the prevention and punishment of the crime of genocide. It was found that Russia falsely accused Ukraine of genocide in the Donbass, and then used this accusation as a pretext to invade the country.

SEE ALSO: Attack on Ukraine. Live coverage in tvn24.pl

In March 2022, the International Court of Justice announced that Russia’s attack on Ukraine was illegal and issued an interim order ordering the cessation of the military operation. Russia sent a letter to the court in which it stated that the tribunal had no right to deal with the case.

- Advertisement -

Ultimately, the ICJ rejected Russian allegations of genocide in eastern Ukraine and issued an interim measure ordering Russia to halt the invasion. It is binding under international law.

The International Court of Justice in The Hague declared Russia’s invasion of Ukraine illegalTVN24

Latvia initiated the process

The first country to declare intervention in this matter on Ukraine’s side was Latvia. Subsequently, all European Union countries joined except Hungary, as well as e.g. Australia, Canada and Great Britain.

This is the largest number of states joining another country’s complaint in the history of the ICJ.

The ICJ is the main judicial organ of the United Nations and was established to settle disputes between states. Its judgments are binding and cannot be appealed.

The Court has no legal instruments to force Russia to comply with its decisions. Sanctions can only be imposed by the UN Security Council, of which Moscow is a permanent member with veto power.

Main photo source: Shutterstock

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article