6.4 C
Monday, February 26, 2024

Joseph Loake wins Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Younger Driver of the 12 months

Must read

- Advertisement -

The 18-year-old Briton will obtain £200,000, a take a look at in an Aston Martin Aramco Cognizant System 1 automotive, full British Racing Drivers’ Membership membership, an Arai helmet and Jordan Bespoke personalised helmet bag as his prize.

Browning beat fellow finalists Taylor Barnard, Arvid Lindblad and Callum Voisin to turn out to be the thirty fourth winner of the Award, which goals to seek out and enhance rising British single-seater racers.

He was introduced because the winner on the prestigious Autosport Awards at Grosvenor Home on Park Lane.

Aston Martin F1 workforce sporting director Andy Stevenson introduced the award to Loake, who mentioned: “I’m speechless, I actually can’t imagine it. That is the very best factor I’ve obtained in my life. Thanks to everybody for serving to me and sticking by me. I can’t imagine it.

“I can’t put it into phrases, the entire method by means of the occasion, the health take a look at, the simulator take a look at and the complete observe take a look at, it was so rugged. I’m so grateful for this.

- Advertisement -

“It has been an unbelievable season for me, I wasn’t anticipating it, and hopefully subsequent yr I could make a step in direction of System 3. My household have been there from begin to end, they’re those who took this chubby child from karting to win this. I can’t imagine it.”

A race winner in British F4, Loake stepped as much as GB3 with JHR Developments in 2023 and scored 4 wins on his approach to third within the championship.

After a simulator evaluation with the Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Group, the 4 Award finalists spent two days at Silverstone. They drove MotorSport Imaginative and prescient System 2, Beechdean Motorsport-run Aston Martin Vantage GT3 and United Autosports Ligier LMP3 equipment on the Grand Prix circuit. In addition they carried out health exams with Athletic Pondering.

Extra: How Aston Martin, Autosport and the BRDC find the next British F1 rising star

Loake joins an illustrious checklist of earlier winners of the Award, which started in 1989, that features 2009 F1 world champion Jenson Button, 13-time grand prix winner David Coulthard, present F1 drivers Lando Norris and George Russell, triple Indianapolis 500 winner Dario Franchitti, and 2014 World Endurance champion Anthony Davidson.

The 2023 Award judging panel was led by ex-F1 driver and BRDC vice-president Derek Warwick. The opposite judges had been four-time IndyCar champion Franchitti, profitable McLaren and Lola designer Mark Williams, Le Mans-winning engineer Leena Gade, Aston Martin improvement driver and 1996 Award winner Darren Turner, GT workforce boss and 1997 Award winner Andrew Kirkaldy, IMSA champion and 2008 Award winner Alexander Sims, skilled commentator Ian Titchmarsh and Autosport’s chief editor Kevin Turner. The visitor choose was three-time grand prix winner Johnny Herbert.

1989 David Coulthard
1990 Gareth Rees
1991 Oliver Gavin
1992 Dario Franchitti
1993 Ralph Firman Jr
1994 Jamie Davies
1995 Jonny Kane
1996 Darren Turner
1997 Andrew Kirkaldy
1998 Jenson Button
1999 Gary Paffett
2000 Anthony Davidson
2001 Steven Kane
2002 Jamie Inexperienced
2003 Alex Lloyd
2004 Paul di Resta
2005 Oliver Jarvis
2006 Oliver Turvey
2007 Stefan Wilson
2008 Alexander Sims
2009 Dean Smith
2010 Lewis Williamson
2011 Oliver Rowland
2012 Jake Dennis
2013 Matt Parry
2014 George Russell
2015 Will Palmer
2016 Lando Norris
2017 Dan Ticktum
2018 Tom Gamble
2019 Johnathan Hoggard
2020 Not awarded
2021 Zak O’Sullivan
2022 Luke Browning
2023 Joseph Loake

Different awards determined by knowledgeable judging panels embody the Autosport Williams Engineer of the Future Award, the Autosport Gold Medal incorporating the Gregor Grant Award for lifetime legacy, the John Bolster Trophy for technical achievement, the Pioneering and Innovation Award, Second of the 12 months, and Promoter of the 12 months. A brand new award for 2023 is Model Partnership of the 12 months.

Additional classes, that are determined by fan voting, embody Worldwide Racing Driver of the 12 months introduced by Pirelli, British Competitors Driver of the 12 months, Rally Driver of the 12 months, Rookie of the 12 months, Worldwide Competitors Automobile of the 12 months and Nationwide Driver of the 12 months.

To seek out out who our different Award winners are, go to autosport.com/awards

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article