14.2 C
Monday, September 27, 2021

Karpacz – Economic Forum. Janez Jansza, the Prime Minister of Slovenia, the Man of the Year 2020 – awards

Must read

- Advertisement -

The awards of the Economic Forum were handed out on Thursday. The title of the Man of the Year 2020 was awarded to the Prime Minister of Slovenia, Janez Jansza. The award was presented by the Prime Minister of Poland, Mateusz Morawiecki. This year, the Special Award of the Economic Forum went to the Ukrainian society.

The Man of the Year 2020 award was presented during the gala ending the jubilee XXX edition of the Economic Forum in Karpacz in Lower Silesia.

Janez Jansza was an anti-communist activist, and then he became prime minister three times in free Slovenia.

Thanking for the award, Jansza said, inter alia, about the fight for the freedom of Eastern Europe. He emphasized the role of Pope John Paul II and Solidarity in the fight to overthrow communism in our region.

Slovenian Prime Minister Janez JansaPAP / Marcin Obara

- Advertisement -


Economic Forum – Special Award

This year, the Special Award of the Economic Forum went to the Ukrainian society.

As emphasized in the laudation, the award went to the Ukrainian society for its persistence. It has been pointed out that recent years have not been easy for our neighbor; Seven years ago, part of the territory of Ukraine was seized before our very eyes and an internal conflict was sparked. It was also noted that Ukrainian society had to deal with this drama; “it is a society that fights and this society continues.”

Prime Minister Denys Szmyhal received the award from the hands of the former Speaker of the Sejm, Marek Kuchciński. – I would like to thank Poland for its solidarity, for supporting an independent Ukraine – said Szmyhal, accepting the award.

Polish Diaspora Prize for Andżelika Borys and Andrzej Poczobut

Andżelika Borys and Andrzej Poczobut were awarded the Polish Community Prize. The awards were collected by representatives of the Union of Poles in Belarus; they were handed over by Prime Minister Mateusz Morawiecki.

The Government Plenipotentiary for Contact with Poles and the Polish Diaspora, Jan Dziedziczak, emphasized that the newly established Polish Diaspora Prize is addressed to Poles who proudly represent our country abroad.

As he noted, the head of the Union of Poles in Belarus, Borys, and the Polish journalist Poczobut, who are held in prison, are fighting the Belarusian regime side by side with Belarusians.

During the gala, former Sejm Marshal Marek Kuchciński, Minister of Infrastructure Andrzej Adamczyk and President of the Polish Development Fund Paweł Borys were awarded the titles of Personality.

The non-governmental organization of the year 2020 was the Polish Scouting Association. KGHM Polska Miedź became the company of the year.

Main photo source: PAP / Marcin Obara

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article