16.8 C
Monday, July 22, 2024

Lindblad boosts title hopes with victory in milestone race

Must read

- Advertisement -

Arvid Lindblad grew to become the primary repeat winner in Method 3 this season, registering a cushty victory by 4 seconds from Christian Mansell as the present period of F3 clocked up a century of races.

Following on from his victory within the season-opening Bahrain dash race, Lindblad was composed on the entrance in Spain as he moved to fourth within the standings, simply 13 factors off new chief Leonardo Fornaroli.

Ranging from pole place for the primary time in F3, Mansell made a textbook begin to lead the sector into Flip one and not using a important problem from behind. However having prolonged his result in over a second on that first tour, Lindblad edged rapidly again in to place himself inside DRS vary of the ART driver, along with his first lunge approaching lap 4.

In comparison with the early part of the weekend, temperatures have been considerably cooler on Sunday, with important cloud cowl and a 20% likelihood of rain. On lap two, the primary studies of drops showing on visors started to filter by means of.

Having closed to the gearbox of Mansell, Lindblad wasted no time in executing his transfer to take lead, utilizing DRS to drive his approach down the within into Flip 1 on lap 5.

- Advertisement -

On the identical time, Luke Browning (Hitech) progressed previous Nikola Tsolov’s ART for third.

Gabriele Mini had arrived in Spain because the championship chief following his victory within the Monaco function race, however his disastrous Barcelona weekend continued as he reported one thing free bouncing round in his cockpit whereas lapping in P14. Such have been the Italian’s struggles that he would finally end in P21.

By lap 11 of the 25, Hitech started to recommend to Browning that he ought to assault Mansell if the tyres would enable, stating that the Australian was “simply gradual” – Lindblad now 1.6s clear within the lead.

Lap 15 noticed the twist come, with the timing display screen indicating that the circumstances have been formally moist, with Mansell making remark of the rainfall particularly within the remaining sector.

Browning’s problem on Mansell by no means actually emerged, as he dropped two seconds off the ART driver. As a substitute, Browning was compelled to cope with the menace from behind as Leonardo Fornaroli, who had handed Tsolov for fourth, closed to inside half a second on lap 22 and had a big tempo benefit.

After a preview of what was to return on the penultimate lap, Fornaroli made his transfer for third on Browning into Flip 1 on the ultimate lap, going side-by-side by means of the chicane, earlier than finishing the transfer at Flip 3.

Together with his tyres having dropped off the cliff, Browning additionally fell behind Oliver Goethe to complete fifth, with the now heavy rain doing nothing to assist his tempo.

The late transfer noticed Fornaroli snatch the championship lead on 84 factors, with Browning again as much as second from Mini and Lindblad.

F3 Spain – race two consequence


A. Lindblad Prema Powerteam

3 25       25    

C. Mansell ART Grand Prix

23 25 4.400     18   2

L. Fornaroli Trident

4 25 1.200     15    

O. Goethe Campos Racing

10 25 0.800     12    

L. Browning Hitech Pulse-Eight

14 25 0.900     10   1

N. Tsolov ART Grand Prix

25 25 3.300     8    

A. Dunne MP Motorsport

9 25 0.300     6    

M. Boya Campos Racing

12 25 0.900     4    

D. Beganovic Prema Powerteam

1 25 1.600     2    

N. León Van Amersfoort Racing

20 25 0.700     1    

S. Ramos Trident

6 25 0.500          

T. Tramnitz MP Motorsport

7 25 1.300          
13 S. Montoya Campos Racing 11 25 4.500          

C. Wurz Jenzer Motorsport

17 25 0.700          

S. Meguetounif Trident

5 25 1.300          

C. Voisin Rodin Motorsport

29 25 0.700          

J. Dufek PHM AIX Racing

28 25 1.100          
18 Germany S. Flörsch Van Amersfoort Racing 21 25 1.600          

M. Zagazeta Jenzer Motorsport

19 25 1.600          

C. Shields Hitech Pulse-Eight

16 25 6.000          

G. Minì Prema Powerteam

2 25 0.900          

J. Loake Rodin Motorsport

31 25 3.000          

M. Esterson Jenzer Motorsport

18 25 1.000          

P. Wiśnicki Rodin Motorsport

30 25 0.600          

T. Smith Van Amersfoort Racing

22 25 0.600          

T. Inthraphuvasak PHM AIX Racing

26 25 1.100          

M. Stenshorne Hitech Pulse-Eight

15 25 0.700          

Okay. Sztuka MP Motorsport

8 25 6.200          

L. Van ART Grand Prix

24 24         Retirement  

N. Bedrin PHM AIX Racing

27 22         Retirement  

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article