10.2 C
Saturday, April 20, 2024

Lindblad wins on debut in thrilling 2024 opener

Must read

- Advertisement -

Rookie Prema driver Lindblad took victory after climbing from fourth on the grid, profiting from in-fighting between ART team-mates Laurens van Hoepen and Nikola Tsolov.

Polesitter van Hoepen made a great begin however dropped again on fellow front-row starter Tsolov and ART team-mate at Flip 2. However additional again, it was catastrophe for Saturday’s pole man Dino Beganovic, who was compelled to pit with a puncture on the finish of lap one following Flip 1 contact with Trident driver Santiago Ramos.

Because the 19-lap dash gave the impression to be settling right into a rhythm, the lead pair started to battle, switching locations twice on lap 4. This allowed Max Esterson to make it a three-way battle on the entrance, closing to inside a second of the duo and regaining the DRS benefit.

Luke Browning made early floor to progress from eleventh to ninth however discovered himself caught in a DRS prepare behind Christian Mansell (ART) and Sami Meguetounif (Trident). On lap six, nevertheless, Browning compelled the matter with a panoramic transfer across the outdoors of Flip 4 to go each drivers and progress to seventh.

However this transfer was subsequently checked out by the stewards and, as Browning was judged to have gained a bonus by driving off the observe and over the Flip 4 kerbs, he was handed a 10-second penalty. On the time the penalty was awarded, Browning would have dropped to P20.

- Advertisement -

Lap seven noticed yellow flags fly for the primary time as Joseph Loake misplaced the rear of his Rodin-entered automobile at Flip 4, with these round him doing nicely to keep away from contact.

Having dropped off the lead pair who had been now working collectively, Esterson fell into the clutches or Lindblad, with the Prema driver lunging to the within of Flip 1 to advertise himself right into a podium place.

As Lindblad closed on the leaders, the ART pair resumed their battle, with van Hoepen retaking the lead into Flip 1 earlier than Tsolov shortly got here again on the Dutchman. Into Flip 8, Lindblad confirmed a nostril, one thing he repeated once more into Turns 1 and 4 on the finish or a pair of DRS zones.

Luke Browning, Hitech Pulse Eight

Picture by: Formulation Motorsport Ltd

An error from van Hoepen at Flip 11 on lap 13 noticed the ART driver run large and drop behind Crimson Bull-backed Lindblad, with the battle on the entrance now joined by Tim Tramnitz (MP Motorsport).

Firstly of lap 15, Lindblad made his transfer for the lead. This place, nevertheless, was held solely till Flip 4 as Tsolov made probably the most of DRS to tug forward as soon as extra.

Lindblad repeated the transfer on lap 16 however was this time in a position to retain the place by way of the next DRS zone. With this, focus switched to the battle for the ultimate podium place, with Fornaroli rising impatient in fourth.

Lindblad shortly established a two-second lead and, with three laps remaining, the combat for second concerned 9 drivers.

As Browning dropped down the order to ninth on the penultimate lap, Fornaroli put himself on the rostrum with a Flip 4 transfer on Tsolov.

Lindblad took the chequered flag with a margin of over 5 seconds, from van Hoepen who managed to carry Fornaroli behind in third. Browning’s penalty finally dropped him from ninth to fifteenth.

Lindblad will begin Saturday’s function race from ninth, with Beganovic and Browning sharing the entrance row.

F3 Bahrain – Dash race outcomes


A. Lindblad Prema Powerteam

3 19       10    

L. Van ART Grand Prix

24 19 5.400     9   1

L. Fornaroli Trident

4 19 0.100     8    

N. Tsolov ART Grand Prix

25 19 1.200     7    

T. Tramnitz MP Motorsport

7 19 0.200     6    

M. Esterson Jenzer Motorsport

18 19 1.500     5    

G. Minì Prema Powerteam

2 19 0.000     4    

M. Boya Campos Racing

12 19 0.700     3    

O. Goethe Campos Racing

10 19 0.800     2    

S. Meguetounif Trident

5 19 1.300     1    

M. Stenshorne Hitech Pulse-Eight

15 19 1.300          

A. Dunne MP Motorsport

9 19 0.500          

N. Bedrin PHM AIX Racing

27 19 1.900          

C. Mansell ART Grand Prix

23 19 4.300          

L. Browning Hitech Pulse-Eight

14 19 0.300          

T. Inthraphuvasak PHM AIX Racing

26 19 0.200          

C. Voisin Rodin Motorsport

29 19 1.400          
18 Colombia S. Montoya Campos Racing 11 19 1.800          

C. Wurz Jenzer Motorsport

17 19 1.700          

N. León Van Amersfoort Racing

20 19 0.500          

Okay. Sztuka MP Motorsport

8 19 1.500          

S. Ramos Trident

6 19 0.700          
23 Germany S. Flörsch Van Amersfoort Racing 21 19 0.800          

J. Dufek PHM AIX Racing

28 19 9.700          

P. Wiśnicki Rodin Motorsport

30 19 0.400          

C. Shields Hitech Pulse-Eight

16 19 1.800          

J. Loake Rodin Motorsport

31 19 0.700          

T. Smith Van Amersfoort Racing

22 19 19.700          

D. Beganovic Prema Powerteam

1 19 29.600         2

M. Zagazeta Jenzer Motorsport

19 15         Retirement  

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article