27 C
Thursday, July 18, 2024

Lionel Messi: Argentina ahead beats Erling Haaland wins Greatest FIFA males’s participant of the 12 months | Soccer Information

Must read

- Advertisement -

Inter Miami ahead Lionel Messi pipped Manchester Metropolis striker Erling Haaland to the boys’s participant of the 12 months at The Greatest FIFA Awards 2023 after a voting tie-break.

The 2 gamers have been tied on factors so the ultimate resolution went to nationwide group captain votes as all 4 house nation skippers – Harry Kane (England), Andy Robertson (Scotland), Aaron Ramsey (Wales) and Jonny Evans (Northern Eire) – voted for Messi.

The 2023 award recognised probably the most distinctive performer between December 19, 2022 and August 20, 2023.

Eye-catching votes for the boys’s award

  • Portugal boss Roberto Martinez voted for Marcelo Brozovic first, Bernardo Silva second and Lionel Messi third.
  • Taiwan’s English supervisor Gary White voted for Declan Rice in third.
  • England supervisor Gareth Southgate voted for Erling Haaland first, Rodri second and Bernardo Silva third.

Efficiency on the 2022 World Cup was solely thought-about for the earlier 12 months’s award – which was gained by Messi after captaining Argentina to glory in Qatar.

- Advertisement -

How the house nations captains voted…

  • England’s Harry Kane – Messi first, Haaland second and Bernardo Silva third.
  • Scotland’s Andy Robertson – Messi first, Haaland second and Mbappe third .
  • Wales’ Aaron Ramsey – Messi first, Haaland second and De Bruyne third .
  • Northern Eire’s Jonny Evans – Messi first, Mbappe second and Haaland third.

The 36-year-old clinched the Ligue 1 title with Paris Saint-Germain in 2023 earlier than transferring to Main League Soccer group Inter Miami, the place he gained the 2023 Leagues Cup – a contest between MLS and Mexico’s Liga MX sides – scoring 10 objectives.

Please use Chrome browser for a extra accessible video participant

John Obi Mikel explains why he thinks Messi deserved to win forward of Erling Haaland

Messi beat Haaland to the award regardless of the Norwegian successful the treble at Man Metropolis as he scored 30 objectives in all competitions within the interval after the World Cup and earlier than August 20, 2023.

Please use Chrome browser for a extra accessible video participant

ESPN’s Mark Ogden and The Mirror’s John Cross debate whether or not Lionel Messi deserved to win the boys’s participant of the 12 months

PSG ahead Kylian Mbappe completed third within the voting with not one of the three finalists in attendance on the awards ceremony in London.

Guardiola named greatest males’s coach at FIFA awards

Manchester City's coach Pep Guardiola accepts the Best Men's Coach award during the FIFA Football Awards 2023 at the Eventim Apollo in Hammersmith, London, Monday, Jan. 15, 2024. (AP Photo/Kirsty Wigglesworth)
Manchester Metropolis boss Pep Guardiola accepts the Greatest males’s coach award

Manchester Metropolis supervisor Pep Guardiola was named greatest males’s coach at The Greatest FIFA Awards 2023.

Guardiola guided Metropolis to the treble final season, including the Champions League crown to their Premier League and FA Cup triumphs.

Inter Milan boss Simone Inzaghi, former Celtic supervisor Ange Postecoglou, now at Tottenham, Luciano Spalletti, who took Napoli to the Serie A title, and Barcelona’s Xavi have been additionally on the shortlist.

Guardiola stated: “I wish to share this trophy and second with our homeowners at Manchester Metropolis.

“On behalf of my backroom employees and myself, I wish to say thanks a lot to our gamers, that they’ve performed for this membership for eight years already collectively, with out exception all of them.

“Thanks a lot for this unbelievable journey as a result of they do not know what it means each morning to go there and reside with them, successful or shedding it would not matter – residing with them has been unbelievable.”

Please use Chrome browser for a extra accessible video participant

Bayern Munich legend Lothar Matthaus believes Erling Haaland was one of the best participant in Europe in 2023

There have been six gamers from Guardiola’s Metropolis facet named within the males’s group of the 12 months – defenders John Stones, Kyle Walker and Ruben Dias, midfielders Bernardo Silva and Kevin De Bruyne and striker Erling Haaland.

England and Actual Madrid midfielder Jude Bellingham was additionally included.

Regardless of not making the group of the 12 months, with Actual Madrid’s Thibaut Courtois in aim, Metropolis shotstopper Ederson gained the boys’s greatest goalkeeper award.

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article