17.4 C
Friday, June 14, 2024

Lundqvist takes shock pole, Newgarden crashes

Must read

- Advertisement -

The Swede extracted a flying lap of 1m45.1519s within the remaining seconds of qualifying to climb to the highest of the leaderboard on the 14-turn circuit.

Andretti World’s Colton Herta, final yr’s pole-sitter at Street America, completed second quickest, 0.1394s behind Lundqvist.

Marcus Armstrong made it two Chip Ganassi Racing drivers within the prime three, placing down a lap that was 0.5073s off in third. 

Herta’s Andretti team-mate Kyle Kirkwood will begin fourth, with Team Penske’s Josef Newgarden in fifth, although he suffered a vicious hit within the remaining spherical of qualifying.

Will Power additionally struggled in what was a depressing session for Staff Penske, spinning in Flip 5 and inflicting a pink flag, which negated his likelihood to combat for pole.

- Advertisement -

Quick Six qualifying

Herta started the change for drivers going from moist tyres to the softer alternate slick compound to start out the phase, charging to an preliminary fast lap of 1m57.2604s on the ever-drying observe.

After Newgarden crossed the road at 2m00.9985s lap, with he and Herta the one drivers to log a time, Energy introduced out the pink flag with below six minutes to go after spinning and stalling at Flip 12.

When the session resumed, it was Armstrong who delivered a stout lap of 1m47.9501s to dethrone Herta, who responded with a 1m47.6837s to return the favour and bump Armstrong to second.

The highest spot rotated between Kirkwood, Armstrong after which Lundqvist within the remaining seconds, however Herta was nonetheless on observe lurking.

Nevertheless, all the things ended abruptly after Newgarden dropped a wheel off-track coming into The Kink, spinning round and crashing violently – first with the appropriate rear after which the appropriate sidepod – into the SAFER Barrier.

The shunt concluded the session and handed Lundqvist the pole.

Prime 12 qualifying

Though Armstrong led many of the phase with a 2m00.3687s lap, the spot modified fingers with lower than a minute to go when Herta delivered a 1m59.2088s flyer.

Herta was adopted by Kirkwood, who was 0.3285s behind to finish up second. Armstrong tried to reply and improved his time, however got here away third at 0.3861s behind Herta.

Energy was fourth. The fifth spot went to Lundqvist, who bumped team-mate Alex Palou, the defending race winner, out of transferring into the Quick Six within the remaining seconds. Newgarden was sixth from Palou and Staff Penske’s Scott McLaughlin.

Alexander Rossi (Arrow McLaren) was ninth, forward of championship chief Scott Dixon (Chip Ganassi Racing) in tenth.

Group Stage qualifying

In Group 1, Rossi vaulted to the highest within the remaining minute with a 2m00.9811s flyer, forward of O’Ward in second.

Armstrong, who led the group for a majority, was knocked down to 3rd with Newgarden in fourth and Energy in fifth.

The ultimate switch spot went to Simpson, who delivered a late run of 2m019470s to knock out Christian Lundgaard, who ran a 2m02.3826s lap within the No. 45 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda.

Andretti World’s Marcus Ericsson was additionally on the skin wanting in, ending up eighth within the group.

Rinus VeeKay (Ed Carpenter Racing) and Santino Ferrucci (AJ Foyt Racing) had been ninth and tenth, respectively.

Nolan Siegel, who was referred to as to substitute for Agustin Canapino within the No. 78 Juncos Hollinger Racing Chevrolet, put in a decent effort in eleventh.

Dale Coyne Racing’s Luca Ghiotto, making his third profession IndyCar begin, was twelfth, forward of Pietro Fittipaldi (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing).

In Group 2, it was Herta pulling out the late heroics by throttling to a lap of 2m00.3275s to go to the highest on the checkered flag.

Palou set a 2m00.5789s lap, which left him second at 0.2514s behind Herta.

McLaughlin, Kirkwood and Dixon transferred into the subsequent spherical in third, fourth and fifth, respectively.

Lundqvist climbed into the ultimate switch spot in sixth, bettering Juncos Hollinger Racing’s Romain Grosjean by 0.3497s.

Rookie Christian Rasmussen (Ed Carpenter Racing) was eighth, forward of fellow first-year driver Theo Pourchaire (Arrow McLaren) in ninth.

Jack Harvey (Dale Coyne Racing) was tenth, with Felix Rosenqvist (Meyer Shank Racing) coming throughout eleventh.

Graham Rahal (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing) ended up twelfth, forward of Sting Ray Robb (AJ Foyt Racing) in thirteenth.

Helio Castroneves, who introduced out the one pink flag after stalling in Flip 5 with three minutes left, put the Meyer Shank Racing Honda in 14th.

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article