5.9 C
Tuesday, December 7, 2021

Machitski and Lind wrap up title, Enduro takes first win

Must read

- Advertisement -

Barwell Motorsport Lamborghini pair Machitski and Lind held an 18.5-point benefit into the title decider over nearest rivals Ian Loggie and Yelmer Buurman’s Mercedes, and had no success seconds to serve of their mid-race pitstop.

Regardless of an off in Machitski’s qualifying session on the Esses which brought on a crimson flag, the championship leaders lined up sixth on the grid in the beginning – with the whole thing of the GT3 grid selecting moist tyres on the damp-but-drying observe.

After polesitter and title outsider Michael Igoe’s WPI Motorsport Lamborghini spun on the opening lap on the {Old} Hairpin, the fast-starting Richard Neary (Staff ABBA Mercedes) assumed the lead forward of Morgan Tillbrook’s Enduro Motorsport McLaren, Loggie and Machitski.

Loggie then took second with a daring transfer across the outdoors of Tillbrook into the {Old} Hairpin on lap 19 and held the place to the pitstops – when everyone switched to slicks – constructing a slight hole over the GT racing newcomer as Neary continued to go the sphere.

Machitski misplaced his fourth place to Barwell team-mate Adam Balon into Goddards on lap seven, however the two vehicles swapped once more by way of the pitstops, Lind benefitting from Balon’s co-driver Sandy Mitchell having to take a seat stationary for an extra 15 seconds to rejoin fourth.

- Advertisement -

Buurman wanted to win to have salvage RAM’s title hopes, however these had been dented when he ran broad on the Melbourne Hairpin on lap 39 and misplaced second to Tillbrook’s co-driver Marcus Clutton.

Clutton then charged after Sam Neary, who had taken over the ABBA Mercedes from his father, and took the lead with a sturdy transfer to the within of Goddards on lap 45.

4 excursions later, Neary made a mistake at Redgate to drop behind Buurman, however the Dutchman had no reply to Clutton’s tempo.


Photograph by: JEP

An on-track stoppage for Jordan Collard’s Staff Rocket RJN McLaren GT4 with three minutes to go introduced out the crimson flag and confirmed the end result.

Tillbrook and Clutton’s first victory, by 1.9 seconds over Buurman, secured Machitski his second British GT title so as to add to his 2006 crown.

It was additionally Barwell’s second consecutive driver’s title, after Mitchell and Rob Collard prevailed in 2020.

In the meantime in GT4, Will Moore and Matt Cowley secured a second victory of the marketing campaign of their Academy Motorsport Ford Mustang with victory over the Staff Rocket RJN McLaren of Michael Benyahia and Alain Valente.

Moore had taken the lead early on within the first stint from poleman Richard Williams’ Audi, however fell again to 3rd by the pitstops as champion Will Burns within the Century Motorsport BMW surged to the entrance forward of Benyahia.

However a 20-second success penalty for Burns and team-mate Gus Burton of their cease meant they rejoined third, whereas Cowley tracked down and handed Valente.

The GT4 Professional-Am title was secured by Newbridge Aston Martin pairing Matt Topham and Darren Turner, who completed fifth in GT4 and second of their sub-category behind the Fox Motorsport McLaren of Nik Halstead and Jamie Stanley.

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article