4 C
Saturday, March 2, 2024

Mariusz Walter Award. First edition. Nominated

Must read

- Advertisement -

The nominations for the first edition of the Mariusz Walter Award have been announced. It was created by the Foundation. Bożena and Mariusz Walter at the end of 2023. This distinction is both for media people with extensive experience, as well as those who are just entering the industry. The awards ceremony will take place during a gala scheduled for March 15 at the Polin Museum.

Three people are nominated for the main award for Media Personality of the Year, including two from TVN24. The first one is Katarzyna Kasia, one of the hosts of “Contact Glass” on TVN24 and a program on Radio Nowy Świat, and the other – Radomir WitTVN24 reporter, host of the “#BezKitu” program on TVN24 and creator “Sejmu Wita”, which can be watched on TVN24 GO. The three nominees are completed by Justyna Dobrosz-Oracz, currently working at TVP Info and previously at “Gazeta Wyborcza”.

The reporter of “Fakty” TVN is nominated in the Media Event of the Year category Jakub Sobieniowski for a series of materials about the use by PIS state institutions and companies to support their own election campaign, Katarzyna Włodkowska for the reportage “In Andrzej Skworz’s editorial office. ‘I’m counting down. Until you burst into tears and leave'” in “Duży Format” and for editing the “19.30” program on TVP.

In the New Voice in the Media category, the nominees are: Aleksander Hudzik from the Mint online magazine, Maciej Okraszewski from the Foreign Department and the Orientuj.się team.

- Advertisement -

The following people will compete for the award in the Sports in the Media category: Dariusz Faron from Wirtualna Polska, Michał Okoński from “Tygodnik Powszechny” and Mikołaj Tyczyński, Klaudia Kowalczyk and Cuba Jędras – authors of the program “Sport do listening” on Radio Nowy Świat.

The nominees and winners were selected by the jury, which consisted of 18 people: Edwin Bendyk, Andrzej Bobiński, Kamil Dziubka, Ewa Ewart, Sylwia Gregorczyk-Abram, Jerzy Jurecki, Grzegorz Kalinowski, Michał Kołodziejczyk, Adam Małysz, Adam Pieczyński, Hanna Rydlewska, Joanna Solska , Agata Szczęśniak, Mariusz Szczygieł, Bożena Walter, Jacek Wasilewski, Paulina Wilk, Maja Włoszczowska. The chapter’s deliberations took place on January 31, 2024.

“My husband’s passion and the essence of his life were the media. He always said that great people were behind his success. I hope that this award will allow us to recognize brave, reliable and inspiring people. We pay special attention to those whose talent and hard work do not have been properly honored so far,” says Bożena Walter, founder of the Foundation. Bożena and Mariusz Walter.

Mariusz Walter, one of the most important figures in the Polish media

Mariusz Walter was one of the most important figures in the Polish media of the last several decades.

He was born on January 4, 1937 in… Lviv. In 1963, he started working at Telewizja Polska, where he remained until 1982. In the 1960s and 1970s, he became one of the most important people on television – he made, directed and wrote scripts for documentaries and programs.

In 1984, together with Jan Wejchert, they founded the ITI group. This cooperation led to the establishment of TVN in 1997, and in 2001 the first Polish news station in Poland – TVN24. Walter was the president of TVN until 2001, and he sat on the management board of ITI (TVN’s owner) until 2012.

In 2001, he was awarded the Commander’s Cross of the Order of Polonia Restituta. He died on December 13, 2022.

Main photo source: Leszek Szymański/PAP

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article