23 C
Saturday, September 18, 2021

Medal of Freedom of Speech. Nominations and details of the ceremony at the European Solidarity Center in Gdańsk

Must read

- Advertisement -

The Grand Press Foundation presented nine candidates and candidates for the first Medal of Freedom of Speech in history. The award ceremony will be held on August 30 at 20.30 at the European Solidarity Center in Gdańsk. The broadcast of this event will be available on TVN24.

According to the regulations, the Freedom of Speech Medal may be awarded to people who engage in activities for the common good, including: civic, social, cultural, artistic, scientific, journalistic and journalistic activities. The event is organized to promote wise words in the social space and outstanding people who proclaim them, mature public debate and maintain freedom of speech in Poland.


Nominations in three categories

The Freedom of Speech medals will be presented for the first time in three categories: Media, Institution and Citizen. Until July 30, the Grand Press Foundation was collecting applications. In category Media they could be done by the editorial boards of the Polish media, in the category Institution the applicants were non-governmental organizations, foundations and associations, and in the category Citizen – adult Internet users.

- Advertisement -

Medal of Freedom of Speechpress.pl

In category Media The Grand Press Foundation indicated the following candidates: – Jarosław Jabrzyk, editor-in-chief of TVN’s “Supervisor”; – Piotr Pacewicz, editor-in-chief of OKO.Press; – Andrzej Poczobut, correspondent of “Gazeta Wyborcza” in Belarus, currently imprisoned by the regime of Alyaksandr Lukashenka.

Jarosław JabrzykTVN24

In category Institution the nominees were: – Adam Bodnar, former Ombudsman; – Paweł Grzesiowski, expert of the Supreme Medical Council for COVID-19; – Ewa Wrzosek, prosecutor, member of the Lex Super Omnia association.

Adam BodnarTVN24

In category Citizen from among those submitted, the Grand Press Foundation indicated: – Katarzyna Augustyneka street activist known as Grandma Kasia; – Agnieszka Jankowiak-Maika history teacher known as Grandmother of Hista; – Olga Tokarczuk, winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature.

Olga TokarczukArchives of the Olga Tokarczuk Foundation

The winners (including the winner of the special award) will be announced during the Freedom of Speech Medal gala, which will take place on August 30 at 8.30 pm at the European Solidarity Center in Gdańsk. The broadcast of this event will be available on TVN24.

Grand Press Foundation, tvn24.pl

Main photo source: press.pl

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article