New cities from 2025. There is a list


In 2025, Poland will gain seven new cities – according to a draft regulation prepared by the Ministry of Internal Affairs and Administration.

A draft regulation has been published on the website of the Government Legislation Centre, which states that from 1 January next year, seven localities will be granted city status.

As has been repeatedly emphasized Ministry of Interior and Administrationobtaining city status is associated with, among other things, a change in the image and greater prestige of the town. It may also result in increased investment attractiveness or provide the opportunity to apply for funds related to the development of urban areas.

New cities in Poland from 2025

Three localities in the Lublin Voivodeship will become cities: Końskowola, Kurow and Wąwolnica. The following will also gain city status: Kazan situated in the Masovian Voivodeship, Kobylnica in Pomerania, Sobkow in the Świętokrzyskie Voivodeship and Zaniemyśl in the Wielkopolska Province.

The project also assumes that from next year there will be seven changes to the borders of municipalities: between the municipality of Chełm and the city of Chełm, between the municipality of Moszczenica and the municipality of Biecz, between the municipality of Sucha Beskidzka and the municipality of Zembrzyce, between the municipality of Zarzecze and the municipality of Kańczuga, between the city of Orzesze and the municipality of Ornontowice, between the municipality of Kaźmierz and the municipality of Szamotuły, and between the city of Kołobrzeg and the municipality of Kołobrzeg.

Eleven changes will concern the establishment of city boundaries. In this case, in addition to the establishment of city boundaries resulting from the granting of city status, the establishment of boundaries applies to the cities of Lubsko, Lubień Kujawski, Rejowiec, Olsztyn. One change, however, concerns the change of the seat of the Batorz commune authorities from Batorz to Batorz Pierwszy.

The planned date of adoption of the project by the Council of Ministers is the third quarter of 2024.

Main image source: Google Maps

Source link