New group in the EP – Europe of Sovereign Nations. Confederation MEPs divided into different factions


Three MEPs from the Confederation – Stanisław Tyszka, Marcin Sypniewski and Ewa Zajączkowska-Hernik – joined the newly established faction in the European Parliament by the Alternative for Germany (AfD). Tyszka himself announced this, informing at the same time that he had become vice-president of Europe of Sovereign Nations. The establishment of the new group is yet another change in the previously established balance of power on the European stage.

Confederationwhich in elections to the European Parliament supported by 12.08 percent of voters, it won six mandates. The following became MEPs:

  • Gregory Braun (district no. 10, no. 2 on the list) – 113,746 votes, 7.64 percent
  • Anna Brylka (district no. 7, no. 1 on the list) – 111,420 votes, 10.84 percent
  • Tomasz Buczek (district no. 9, no. 1 on the list) – 51,754 votes, 8.18 percent
  • Marcin Sypniewski (district no. 11, no. 1 on the list) – 49,553 votes, 3.72 percent
  • Stanislaw Tyszka (district no. 12, no. 1 on the list) – 75,560 votes, 6.89 percent
  • Ewa Zajączkowska-Hernik (district no. 4, no. 2 on the list) – 102,569 votes, 7.86 percent

READ MORE: MEPs from the Confederation. Who won the mandate?

New faction in the EP. Tyszka: three MEPs from the Confederation

However, the Confederation's MEPs have split in the new term of the EP. Stanisław Tyszka announced on Wednesday afternoon on Platform X that “we have just established a completely new political group in the European Parliament: Europe of Sovereign Nations”.

It has been known for some time that the far-right party Alternative for German (AfD) wants to establish this new faction, and the official announcement of its formation was announced for Wednesday.

Tyszka added that he had been elected co-chair of ESN. He said that apart from him, the group included two other MEPs from New Hope (this party is part of the Confederation): Marcin Sypniewski and Ewa Zajączkowska-Hernik.

Ewa Zajączkowska-Hernikelection materials

“The group currently has 25 members, and apart from us, it includes MEPs from Germany, France, Bulgaria, Hungary, the Czech Republic and Slovakia,” he said.

As Tyszka wrote, “this is the culmination of over a month of difficult negotiations”. “We decided that in order to fight for Poland's interests in the EP more effectively, it is better to create a group than to remain non-affiliated. We also negotiated the strongest position in this group. Together with our allies, we will oppose the EU's crazy climate policy, which threatens the stability of our countries and Europe, immigration policy and attempts to build a European superstate” – we read. “We have a lot in common, sometimes we differ, but in international politics, in order to act effectively, we must try to build alliances” – he added.

He also assured: “We will of course cooperate closely with the remaining three MEPs from the Confederation. There is no split, we are fighting together for the good of Poland.”

Reports of negotiations between two MEPs and Braun's rejection

Earlier that day, PAP reported unofficially that three Confederation MEPs had decided to join the group formed by the far-right AfD. – This German party presented an offer, and New Hope MEPs Stanisław Tyszka, Marcin Sypniewski and Ewa Zajączkowska-Hernik decided to respond and create a Europe of Sovereign Nations group with the AfD – the source said.

At the same time – as reported by PAP's interlocutor from the EP – MEPs Anna Bryłka and Tomasz Buczek are conducting negotiations on joining the Patriots for Europe group. – I estimate the chances of them joining Orban's faction at 50 percent. Otherwise, the two MEPs will probably remain non-affiliated – said an EU source.

The third result was achieved by Tomasz Buczek from Konfederacja Darek Delmanowicz/PAP

The sixth MEP of the Confederation is Grzegorz Braun, who – according to unofficial information – is not conducting any talks. Some PAP sources indicate that the EP factions do not want him to be in their ranks.

“The AfD has set a condition that it will not cooperate with Polish MP Grzegorz Braun and Slovak MP Milan Mazurek,” we read in the German “Die Welt”. The reason is their statements on the Holocaust.

Gregory BraunPAP/Paweł Supernak

As reported by the media, the AfD invited other Eurosceptic parties to cooperate: Rekonkwista from FranceConfederation from Poland, Renaissance from BulgariaWe're Going to La Fiesta with SpainFreedom and Direct Democracy with CzechHnutie Republic of SlovakiaOur Homeland Movement with Hungarian and the Union of Nation and Justice of Lithuania.

According to information from Die Welt journalists, half of the members of the Europe of Sovereign Nations group are to come from the AfD, and the leader of the faction is to be its MEP Rene Aust.

SEE PREMIUM TEXT: Opportunities, political interests, “struggle for survival” and “inflated egos”. Who are the unaffiliated and what will they change

Changes in the factional puzzle and a new order of power

The political groups in the EP should be constituted by Thursday, and then the European Parliament is to begin talks on filling parliamentary committees. The term of office of the new European Parliament will be officially inaugurated on 16 July during a plenary session in Strasbourg.

Hungarian Prime Minister Viktor Orban has formed his group in the European Parliament together with former Czech Prime Minister Andrej Babiš and the head of the Austrian Freedom Party Herbert Kickl. Patriots for Europe will become the third largest force in the European Parliament. The group will be outpaced by the Social Democrats and Christian Democrats, who together with the Liberals will form a coalition in the new EP.


>> Politico Ranking: 23 “weirdest” new MEPs. Two from Poland among them <<

The Patriots attracted a number of parties from the European Conservatives and Reformists (ECR) faction, which includes the party of Italian Prime Minister Giorgia Meloni and PiS.

The leader of the French National Rally, Jordan Bardella, announced his intention to join the new group on Monday in his speech after the second round of parliamentary elections in France, which took place on Sunday. This means that the far-right party associated with the pro-Russian politician Marine Le Pen will leave the Identity and Democracy (TD) group, in which she has been a member until now.


The National Union will be the largest national delegation in the new group – it will introduce 30 MEPs to it. Second place will go to the party initiating the new group, the Hungarian Fidesz, which will introduce ten MEPs to the new group.

Matteo Salvini's Italian League, which has eight MEPs, will also move from the TD ranks to the Patriots for Europe. This politician, also known for his skepticism about the European Union's pro-Ukrainian policy, announced on Monday that he would join the Patriots.

The exodus of far-right parties will mean the annihilation of the TD group. In the June EP elections, the parties that made up this group had a combined 57 seats. Now, however, the TD group will no longer meet the requirements of the regulations

The new group will have almost the same composition as the disintegrating TD. Unofficially, the European Parliament says that the establishment of the new group is an image move, intended to work in the favor of both Orban and Le Pen. Orban can present himself as the founder of a new force that will take the EP stage by storm, immediately winning third place in the chamber. His Fidesz party, after parting ways with the center-right European People's Party in 2021 over allegations about the state of the rule of law in Hungary, remained unaffiliated in the EP.

Author:acre, pp//mrz,ft

Main image source: RONALD WITTEK/PAP

Source link