2.8 C
Tuesday, February 27, 2024

New Spirit of Rallying award created to honour WRC star Craig Breen

Must read

- Advertisement -

The ‘Craig Breen Spirit of Rallying Award’ shall be awarded to the JWRC driver who, over the course of the season, finest embodies Breen’s traits: a willingness to beat adversity, an unwavering dedication to tackle each impediment to finish each rally, and an outgoing Positive manner of their interactions with fellow opponents, marshals and volunteers, media and their engineers and mechanics.

The much-loved Breen, who died in a testing accident in Croatia final April, was a earlier winner of the JWRC title in 2011, after claiming a tie-break victory over Estonia’s Egon Kaur.

After profitable the JWRC title, Breen continued to stand up the rallying ranks earlier than progressing to the WRC’s prime tier, the place he scored 9 podiums, driving for Citroen, Hyundai and M-Sport-Ford. 

The announcement of the brand new award arrives on the eve of the brand new JWRC season, which can welcome a record-breaking 19-car subject for the opening spherical in Sweden this weekend.

Junior WRC supervisor and M-Sport Poland managing director, Maciej Woda mentioned: “Craig has left an unimaginable mark on the Junior WRC, first as a competitor and later as a mentor. He all the time discovered the time to supply recommendation and help to our subsequent era of stars.

- Advertisement -

“He additionally holds an extremely particular place in my very own reminiscence, as the primary champion after the sequence grew to become run by M-Sport Poland. It can be crucial that we acknowledge his unimaginable influence on the championship, and we imagine this award finest honours his legacy.”

An unbiased judging panel will decide the winner of the award, which shall be introduced following the ultimate spherical of the Junior WRC on the Acropolis Rally held from 5-8 September.

Craig Breen, James Fulton, Hyundai World Rally Crew Hyundai i20 N Rally1

Picture by: Austral / Hyundai Motorsport

Along with this award, Rally Sweden organisers will honour Breen this weekend by renaming the Brattby stage, which was well-known received by the Irishman final yr on his strategy to ending second in what can be his final WRC outing. The stage will now be referred to as #42 Brattby, utilising Breen’s competitors quantity.

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article