9.3 C
Saturday, January 29, 2022

Nobel Peace Prize 2021. List of nominees, candidacy from Poland – Iustitia Judges Association

Must read

- Advertisement -

The Association of Polish Judges “Iustitia” is among the nominees for this year’s Nobel Peace Prize. According to Reuters, citing information collected from Norwegian parliamentarians, the following are also nominated: Russian oppositionist Alexei Navalny, climate activist Greta Thunberg, and the World Health Organization (WHO) and its COVAX program, which is to ensure fair access to COVID vaccines -19.


“This is a nomination for the fight for a democratic Europe based on principles. When human rights, the rule of law and freedom of expression are threatened, our common peace is at stake,” wrote the “Iustitia” Association of Polish Judges on Twitter.

As added, Norwegian MP Jette F. Christensen nominated the organization of Polish judges.

Nominations for Trump, Cichanouska, Thunberg, Navalny

- Advertisement -

Among the nominees are: the international organization GAVI, helping to vaccinate low-income countries, the Association of Polish Judges “Iustitia”, Belarusian oppositionists – Swiatłana Cichanouska, Maryja Kalesnikawa and Weranika Capkała, the Hungarian Helsinki Committee, the American Committee for the Protection of Journalists (CPJ), the Hong Kong news portal Kong Free Press, the information verification organization International Fact-Checking Network and Reporters bez Granic (RsF).

Also nominated are: Russian oppositionist Alexei Navalny, climate activist Greta Thunberg, and the World Health Organization (WHO) and its COVAX program to ensure fair access to COVID-19 vaccines.

This group also included: former US President Donald Trump, NATO, the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) and the International Space Station (ISS).

Reports and predictions

The reports remain secret for 50 years, but the authors may divulge them. Members of national parliaments and governments as well as Nobel Prize winners from previous years have the right to submit nominations.

The agency points out that Norwegian MPs had been correctly predicting who would become the Nobel Peace Prize winner since 2014, and were only wrong in 2019. “This pattern in recent years is quite amazing,” said Henrik Urdal, director of the Oslo Peace Research Institute (PRIO).

The Nobel Peace Prize of $ 1.25 million will be presented on December 10 on the anniversary of the death of Alfred Nobel, its founder.

Main photo source: MARTIAL TREZZINI / EPA / PAP

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article