13.4 C
Saturday, October 23, 2021

Nobel Peace Prize goes to journalists from Philippines, Russia

Must read

- Advertisement -

OSLO — The 2021 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded Friday to journalists Maria Ressa of the Philippines and Dmitry Muratov of Russia.

They had been citing for his or her battle for freedom of expression.

The winners had been introduced Friday by Berit Reiss-Andersen, chair of the Norwegian Nobel Committee.

“Free, unbiased and fact-based journalism serves to guard towards abuse of energy, lies and conflict propaganda,” mentioned Reiss-Andersen.

“With out freedom of expression and freedom of the press, will probably be troublesome to efficiently promote fraternity between nations, disarmament and a greater world order to reach our time.”

- Advertisement -


Ressa in 2012 co-founded Rappler, a information web site that has targeted “crucial consideration on the (President Rodrigo) Duterte regime’s controversial, murderous anti-drug marketing campaign,” the Nobel committee mentioned.

She and Rappler “have additionally documented how social media is getting used to unfold faux information, harass opponents and manipulate public discourse.”

Muratov was one of many founders of the unbiased Russian newspaper Novaya Gazeta in 1993.

“Novaya Gazeta is essentially the most unbiased newspaper in Russia immediately, with a basically crucial perspective in direction of energy,” the Nobel committee mentioned.

“The newspaper’s fact-based journalism {and professional} integrity have made it an necessary supply of knowledge on censurable points of Russian society not often talked about by different media,” it added.

Kremlin spokesman Dmitry Peskov congratulated Muratov on profitable the prize, hailing him as a “proficient and courageous” particular person.

“We will congratulate Dmitry Muratov — he has persistently labored in accordance along with his beliefs, he has adhered to his beliefs, he’s proficient and courageous. It’s a excessive appraisal and we congratulate him,” Peskov mentioned in a convention name with reporters after the prize was introduced.

The distinguished award is accompanied by a gold medal and 10 million Swedish kronor (over $1.14 million). The prize cash comes from a bequest left by the prize’s creator, Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel, who died in 1895.

On Monday, the Nobel Committee awarded the prize in physiology or drugs to Individuals David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian for his or her discoveries into how the human body perceives temperature and touch.

The Nobel Prize in physics was awarded Tuesday to three scientists whose work found order in seeming disorder, serving to to elucidate and predict complicated forces of nature, together with increasing our understanding of local weather change.


Benjamin Listing and David W.C. MacMillan had been named as laureates of the Nobel Prize for chemistry Wednesday for locating an easier and environmentally cleaner way to build molecules that can be utilized to make compounds, together with medicines and pesticides.

The Nobel Prize for literature was awarded Thursday to U.K.-based Tanzanian writer Abdulrazak Gurnah, who was acknowledged for his “uncompromising and compassionate penetration of the consequences of colonialism and the destiny of the refugee.”

Nonetheless to come back Monday is the prize for excellent work within the subject economics.

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article