14.1 C
Monday, October 18, 2021

Nobel Prize 2021 in Literature for Abdulrazak Gurnah

Must read

- Advertisement -

The 2021 Nobel Prize in Literature has been awarded. The most important literary award in the world went to Abdulrazak Gurnah.

The Nobel Prize in Literature is awarded by the Swedish Academy. In the Stock Exchange Hall at the headquarters of the Swedish Academy in Stockholm, Academy secretary Mats Malm announced on Thursday that Abdulrazak Gurnah was awarded this year.

Nobel Prize 2021 – previous winners

Monday announcement of the winners in the field of physiology or medicine began a series of press conferences during which the next winners will be announced. They became the winners of the 2021 Nobel Prize for the most important achievements in the field of physiology or medicine David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian for discovering temperature and touch receptors.

In Tuesday The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has announced that the 2021 Nobel Prize in Physics has been split between three scientists: Syukuro Manabe (USA), Klaus Hasselmann (Germany) and Giorgio Parisi (Italy). Parisi will receive half of the prize of 10 million Swedish crowns (approx. 980,000 euros), the other half will be shared equally by Manabe and Hasselmann.

- Advertisement -

On Wednesday The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has stated that in the field of chemistry, the following have been recognized this year: Benjamin List and David WC MacMillan.

On Friday in Oslo The Norwegian Nobel Committee will announce the winner of the Nobel Peace Prize. According to the Nobel Institute, 329 nominations have been received this year, of which 234 are people and 95 – organizations. Nobel laureate in the field of economics we will meet on Monday, October 11 in Stockholm.

Nobel Prize for Literature – Polish accents

So far, 117 people have received the Nobel Prize in Literature, of which 16 are women. The Nobel literary history statistics look very interesting from the Polish perspective. The Swedish Academy appreciated five Polish-language authors: Henryk Sienkiewicz (1905), Władysław Reymont (1924), Czesław Miłosz (1980), Wisława Szymborska (1996) and Olga Tokarczuk (for 2018, awarded in 2019 .).

According to many opinions of literary historians, Isaac Bashevis Singer, who wrote in Yiddish, should be added to this group. Singer, who was born in 1902 near Nowy Dwór Mazowiecki – although he moved to the United States in 1935 – never rejected his Polish identity and considered himself a Varsovian. In 1978, the Swedish Academy appreciated him for “a passionate prose art, which, growing out of Polish-Jewish cultural traditions, also touches on age-old problems”.

We have a new Nobel Prize winner. Olga Tokarczuk awarded by the Swedish Academy (video from 2019)TVN facts

Awarded in 2019, Olga Tokarczuk (for 2018) is the second Polish woman and the first prose writer in this group. On the day the decision of the Swedish Academy was announced, she was only a few months older than the youngest Polish Nobel Prize winner – Władysław Reymont.

The documents that have been disclosed so far show that the most frequently nominated Polish writers were Maria Dąbrowska (1939, 1957, 1959, 1960, 1965) and Henryk Sienkiewicz (annually in 1901-1905). Stefan Żeromski received four nominations (1921-24), and Jarosław Iwaszkiewicz was the same number of times (1957, 1963, 1965, 1966).

Władysław Reymont was also nominated four times: in 1919, 1920, 1922 and 1924.

Main photo source: ANGELA WEISS / EPA / PAP

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article