16.6 C
Tuesday, July 16, 2024

O’Ward beats Palou after thrilling duel

Must read

- Advertisement -

Arrow McLaren’s Pato O’Ward fended off Chip Ganassi Racing’s Alex Palou to win the primary race of the hybrid period in a thriller at Mid-Ohio Sports activities Automobile Course.

The 25-year-old Mexican got here again from over a six-second deficit to steer 24 of 80 laps and seize victory by 0.4993s.

It was the sixth profession win and second of the season for O’Ward, who was credited with the St. Petersburg win following Josef Newgarden’s disqualification within the push-to-pass scandal.

Palou, who began on pole after beating O’Ward by 0.0024s in qualifying, fell behind at the beginning of the ultimate stint having left for 53 laps having opened the race with dominant tempo

However a poor second cease price him essential time and allowed O’Ward to achieve monitor place.

- Advertisement -

Scott McLaughlin took a distant third to hitch O’Ward and Palou on the rostrum. Andretti International’s Colton Herta and Marcus Ericsson captured fourth and fifth, respectively.

Palou continues to carry the championship lead following Mid-Ohio with 329 factors. O’Ward strikes as much as second with 259 factors.

The primary race laps of the hybrid period started underneath warning after the #9 Chip Ganassi Racing Honda of Scott Dixon, a six-time winner at Mid-Ohio and third within the standings pre-event, stopped at Flip 5 as a result of {an electrical} glitch that shut down his engine. He was pushed behind the wall earlier than the inexperienced flag waved.

Palou led the sector to the inexperienced flag on the alternate start-finish line on the again straight on lap 3, making a clear getaway by means of Flip 4 and placing an early hole on the sector.

Scott Dixon, Chip Ganassi Racing Honda, stopped earlier than the race had began

Photograph by: Michael L. Levitt / Motorsport Images

Buried in the midst of the pack after beginning seventeenth, Penske’s Josef Newgarden opted for an early pit cease – placing him on the three-stop technique – on lap 12 and switched from the softer alternates to a set of flippantly used more durable main tires.

By lap 18, the lead for Palou grew to five.5s over fellow front-row mate O’Ward, with Malukas and Herta nonetheless in tow operating third and fourth, respectively. Malukas was a distant 12.8s again.  Dixon was capable of return from his suspected early hybrid situation, albeit over 20 laps down.

O’Ward made his first pit cease on lap 28, with Malukas following. Though O’Ward acquired away clear after swapping from main tires to alternates, Malukas stalled getting out of his pit field to drop him out of the main battle.

Palou pitted from the lead the next lap, opting to change to alternates and handing off the highest spot to McLaughlin, who pitted on lap 30 and gave the lead again to Palou.

The highest 5 after the primary wave of pit stops was led by Palou, with O’Ward at 5s again, adopted by McLaughlin, Herta and Newgarden.  

Newgarden handed the fifth place to Ericsson after diving in for his second pit cease on lap 36, remaining on primaries and returning to the monitor fifteenth.

The lead for Palou started to shrink as O’Ward closed the hole to inside 3.5s by lap 45. Though O’Ward acquired to inside 0.4s of Palou over the subsequent few laps, he dove to pit lane on lap 54 and altered to the more durable main tires.  

Palou then got here in on lap 55 and had a sluggish exit after receiving a set of alternates as he struggled to interact first gear. O’Ward steamed previous Palou, with the previous carrying on-track momentum with a move on the skin of Flip 1, leaving a path of kicked-up mud for Palou to drive by means of.

After McLaughlin introduced his No. 3 Team Penske Chevrolet into the pits on lap 56, the lead was handed to O’Ward, who held a 1.6s benefit on Palou.

Following a quick off-track tour, Newgarden made his ultimate pit cease on lap 62 and swapped to the softer compound. Race Management handed him a drive-through penalty after a pit lane pace violation, compounding his tough weekend.

The battle for the lead started to warmth up with 15 laps to go as Palou caught as much as the rear wing of O’Ward. Nonetheless, it widened again moments later as Palou acquired barely off form after touching the curbing in Flip 13.  

O’Ward and Palou remained inside 0.5s of one another, with McLaughlin a distant third at 17s behind with eight laps to go.

Visitors got here into play as O’Ward caught backmarkers Agustin Canapino and CGR’s Kyffin Simpson, which introduced Palou nearer at simply 0.3s behind with seven laps to go.

O’Ward was nonetheless unable to maneuver by the backmarkers because the laps ticked down however managed to maintain Palou behind him to file a hard-fought victory by slightly below half a second.

IndyCar Mid-Ohio outcomes

Cla   Nº   Driver   Automobile / Engine   Laps   Time  Interval
5 Patricio O’Ward Dallara/Chevrolet 80 1:33’22.6191  
10 Alex Palou Dallara/Honda 80 1:33’23.1184 0.4993
3 Scott McLaughlin Dallara/Chevrolet 80 1:33’38.7749 16.1558
26 Colton Herta Dallara/Honda 80 1:33’47.4916 24.8725
28 Marcus Ericsson Dallara/Honda 80 1:33’54.3000 31.6809
7 Alexander Rossi Dallara/Chevrolet 80 1:33’54.8634 32.2443
45 C.Lundgaard Dallara/Honda 80 1:33’55.1905 32.5714
27 Kyle Kirkwood Dallara/Honda 80 1:33’57.8409 35.2218
20 C.Rasmussen Dallara/Chevrolet 80 1:34’02.9373 40.3182
10  14 Santino Ferrucci Dallara/Chevrolet 80 1:34’09.5275 46.9084
11  12 Will Power Dallara/Chevrolet 80 1:34’11.2737 48.6546
12  66 David Malukas Dallara/Honda 80 1:34’12.0097 49.3906
13  51 Toby Sowery Dallara/Honda 80 1:34’12.5057 49.8866
14  60 Felix Rosenqvist Dallara/Honda 80 1:34’14.4353 51.8162
15  8 Linus Lundqvist Dallara/Honda 80 1:34’16.0985 53.4794
16  41 Sting Ray Robb Dallara/Chevrolet 80 1:34’17.3604 54.7413
17  11 Marcus Armstrong Dallara/Honda 80 1:34’18.4590 55.8399
18  15 Graham Rahal Dallara/Honda 80 1:34’21.4872 58.8681
19  21 R.van Kalmthout Dallara/Chevrolet 80 1:34’23.0741 1’00.4550
20  6 Nolan Siegel Dallara/Chevrolet 80 1:34’28.4782 1’05.8591
21  4 Kyffin Simpson Dallara/Honda 80 1:34’29.6604 1’07.0413
22  78 Agustín Canapino Dallara/Chevrolet 79 1:33’25.8966  
23  77 Romain Grosjean Dallara/Chevrolet 79 1:33’33.1085  
24  30 P.Fittipaldi Dallara/Honda 79 1:33’35.6225  
25  2 Josef Newgarden Dallara/Chevrolet 79 1:33’41.0299  
26  18 Jack Harvey Dallara/Honda 79 1:34’05.1083  
27  9 Scott Dixon Dallara/Honda 40 1:12’58.7920

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article