13.3 C
Wednesday, May 22, 2024

Palou takes pole, Andretti vehicles hit the wall

Must read

- Advertisement -

Having raced on close by Belle Isle Island from 1992, Penske Leisure Corp revived the downtown circuit for the IndyCar occasion with a brief and sharp 1.7-mile, nine-turn format within the shadow of the Basic Motors Renaissance Heart.

Following up his Indianapolis 500 pole, Palou set the early tempo within the Quick Six shootout with 1m03.7423s however was quickly toppled by Team Penske’s Indy 500 winner Josef Newgarden after which his team-mate Scott McLaughlin with 1m02.4743s.

On his second run, Palou snatched P1 again with 1m01.8592s, with first Romain Grosjean (Andretti Autosport) after which McLaughlin grabbing P2 with 1m02.1592s, which was three tenths off pole.

Behind Grosjean, who brushed the wall off Flip 2 however continued, Scott Dixon will begin fourth for Ganassi, forward of Newgarden and Marcus Ericsson (Ganassi).

Ericsson overshot Flip 8 early on and was nearly collected by Grosjean as he spun round to extricate himself from the runoff.

- Advertisement -

Will Energy, Crew Penske Chevrolet

Picture by: Artwork Fleischmann

Quick 12 qualifying

Within the second spherical of qualifying, Palou set the tempo with 1m01.6390s from Grosjean, Ericsson, Newgarden, McLaughlin and Dixon.

Failing to progress had been Crew Penske’s Will Power, Simon Pagenaud (Meyer Shank Racing), Felix Rosenqvist (Arrow McLaren) and team-mate Pato O’Ward, and rookie Marcus Armstrong (Ganassi).

Lengthy Seashore GP winner Kyle Kirkwood, who topped his qualifying group, ripped the left-front nook of his Andretti Autosport automotive off on the within of Flip 7. He’ll begin 12th.

“I’m disillusioned, that was a pole-winning automotive, little question,” he stated. “I touched that wall approach tougher in apply, it was simply the angle I hit. It’s simply terrible, my mistake.”

Marcus Armstrong, Chip Ganassi Racing Honda

Marcus Armstrong, Chip Ganassi Racing Honda

Picture by: Artwork Fleischmann

Group stage qualifying

In Group 1, Armstrong set the tempo with 1m01.8688s, three-tenths away from Grosjean, Palou, Energy, Pagenaud and Rosenqvist.

Alexander Rossi was pushed out by McLaren team-mate Rosenqvist within the closing seconds by 0.03s to consign him to 13th, failing to progress together with Conor Daly, who spun his Ed Carpenter Racing automotive, and Devlin DeFrancesco, whose Andretti group did an amazing job to rebuild his automotive after an enormous apply crash this morning.

AJ Foyt Racing’s Benjamin Pedersen will begin 19th, having overwhelmed David Malukas (Dale Coyne Racing), Helio Castroneves – who spun his MSR entry exiting Flip 2 – and Jack Harvey (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing).

In Group 2, Kirkwood set the tempo, remarkably on major tyres, at 1m01.5305s forward of McLaughlin, O’Ward, Dixon, Ericsson and Newgarden.

Rinus VeeKay (ECR) was pushed out by 0.001s and can begin 14th, forward of Callum Ilott (Juncos Hollinger Racing), Christian Lundgaard – who smashed the front-left nook of his RLL automotive additionally at Flip 7 – Agustin Canapino (JHR) and Santino Ferrucci (AJ Foyt Racing).

Colton Herta spanked the Flip 7 wall on his preliminary primary-tyred run, breaking his suspension, and he’ll begin down in twenty fourth, solely outpacing Sting Ray Robb (Coyne) and Graham Rahal (RLL).

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article