14.2 C
Friday, July 1, 2022

Percat completes Walkinshaw Andretti United line-up

Must read

- Advertisement -

The four-time Supercars race winner has lengthy been linked to a sensational return to the Walkinshaw fold rather than outgoing WAU driver Bryce Fullwood.

That is now been made official, WAU right now confirming that Percat will associate Mostert in an all-star line-up for 2022 and past.

Percat has an extended historical past with the Clayton squad, having carried Walkinshaw help again when he was racing System Ford within the late 2000s.

He then drove for the crew in Super2 within the early 2010s, and took a outstanding Bathurst 1000 win as a rookie alongside Garth Tander for the Walkinshaw-run Holden Racing Crew in 2011.

The Tander/Percat Holden Commodore is now owned by WAU part-owner Zak Brown.

- Advertisement -

In 2014 Percat accomplished a single full major recreation season in a fourth Walkinshaw entry earlier than parting methods with the organisation to hitch LD Motorsport the next yr.

He has now been wooed again to Clayton to associate Mostert following his considerably sudden cut up with Brad Jones Racing simply weeks after asserting a brand new deal.

“I’m extraordinarily excited and grateful to be becoming a member of Walkinshaw Andretti United. Having been with the Walkinshaw household throughout my junior days in System Ford and Super2 that is the place I really feel at dwelling,” stated Percat.

“I’ve dreamt of getting my title subsequent to the #2 from a really younger age and now for it to be actuality is superb. I can not wait to repay the religion to the crew, particularly Ryan and Martine [Walkinshaw].

“The Walkinshaw household has been an enormous a part of my profession since 2007.

“Driving alongside Chaz is one thing I’m actually trying ahead to, he’s undoubtedly one of many quickest guys on the grid. We spent a variety of time racing towards one another since System Ford so now I’m excited to be becoming a member of forces with him as we work collectively to proceed the crew’s development to the entrance of the grid.”

Ryan Walkinshaw added: “It’s improbable to have Nick again with our crew. Nick and my household share an excellent historical past collectively, and I’m excited on the alternative so as to add to that going ahead.

“We noticed what a expertise Nick was from a younger age, working with him as he climbed the ranks right into a major recreation driver and a Bathurst winner, and now to have him again dwelling is basically becoming.

“He’s a improbable driver, and his performances show he belongs within the dialog of the highest drivers within the class.”

Bryce Fullwood, Walkinshaw Andretti United Holden

Picture by: Mark Horsburgh, Edge Photographics

The Percat deal marks a straight swap with Fullwood, who’s headed to BJR for the 2022 season.

With Matt Stone Racing having introduced its accomplished line-up earlier right now, Jack Le Brocq to hitch Todd Hazelwood, the 2022 grid is now successfully locked in.

Two of the three spots but to be made official are at BJR, though Macauley Jones and Jack Smith are anticipated to associate newcomers Andre Heimgartner and Jack Smith.

The opposite is at Kelly Grove Racing, which is ready on a Superlicence exemption for Kiwi teenager Matt Payne.

The 2022 Supercars drivers

Blanchard Racing Team
Tim Slade

Tickford Racing
Cameron Waters
James Courtney
Jake Kostecki
Thomas Randle

Dick Johnson Racing
Anton De Pasquale
Will Davison

Kelly Grove Racing
David Reynolds
Matt Payne*

Brad Jones Racing
Andre Heimgartner
Bryce Fullwood
Macauley Jones*
Jack Smith*

Erebus Motorsport
Will Brown
Brodie Kostecki

Team 18
Mark Winterbottom
Scott Pye

Crew Sydney
Fabian Coulthard
Garry Jacobson

Walkinshaw Andretti United
Chaz Mostert
Nick Percat

Matt Stone Racing
Todd Hazelwood
Jack Le Brocq

Triple Eight Race Engineering
Broc Feeney
Shane van Gisbergen


Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article