8.9 C
Friday, March 1, 2024

Piastri named Autosport’s Rookie of the Yr Award

Must read

- Advertisement -

The 22-year-old Australian, who completed ninth within the championship after taking a dash win in Qatar, additionally took the accolade in 2020 (for his F3 season) and 2021 (F2), making him the primary three-time winner of the Award.

Autosport readers voted Piastri the most effective rookie of 2023, forward of fellow F1 driver Logan Sargeant, Tremendous Method runner-up and AlphaTauri stand-in Liam Lawson, and F3 champion Gabriel Bortoleto.

Piastri’s success was introduced on 3 December on the Autosport Awards at Grosvenor Home on Park Lane.

Two-time Method 1 world champion Mika Hakkinen appeared on stage to current the award, with Piastri accepting by way of a pre-recorded video message. 

“Thanks very a lot to everybody who voted for me,” mentioned Piastri. “It has been a exceptional yr after such an ideal turnaround for the workforce after a troublesome begin, culminating within the dash victory in Qatar.”

- Advertisement -

Earlier winners of the award, which is open to skilled racing drivers of their first season of their respective classes, embody Jenson Button, Juan Pablo Montoya, Mark Webber, Lewis Hamilton, Sebastian Vettel, Max Verstappen and Charles Leclerc.

Different classes determined by fan voting embody Worldwide Racing Driver of the Yr introduced by Pirelli, British Competitors Driver of the Yr, Rally Driver of the Yr, Worldwide Competitors Automobile of the Yr and Nationwide Driver of the Yr.

Additional awards, determined by professional judging panels, embody the Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Younger Driver of the Yr Award, the Autosport Williams Engineer of the Future Award, the Autosport Gold Medal incorporating the Gregor Grant Award for lifetime legacy, the John Bolster Trophy for technical achievement, the Pioneering and Innovation Award, Second of the Yr, and Promoter of the Yr. A brand new award for 2023 is Model Partnership of the Yr.

To seek out out who our different Award winners are, go to autosport.com/awards

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article