7.3 C
Sunday, February 25, 2024

“Polityka” 2023 passports handed out – winners and nominees

Must read

- Advertisement -

“Polityka” 2023 passports distributed. This year, for the first time, eight, not seven, prizes were awarded. Rapper Łona was honored in a new category awarded by readers. The winners also included director Paweł Maślona, ​​painter Marta Nadolle, and composer and singer Hania Rani. The Creator of Culture special award went to the writer and playwright Józef Hen.

“Polityka” passports were established in 1993. Their originator was the long-time head of the “Culture” department, Zdzisław Pietrasik. So far, they have been awarded in seven categories: Film, Theater, Literature, Visual Arts, Classical Music, Popular Music and Digital Culture. Moreover, since 2002, a special award – the Creator of Culture – has been awarded for all contributions to Polish culture.

This year, the eighth Passport was awarded for the first time. Its winner was chosen by readers.

“Polityka” passports 2023 – winners

- Advertisement -

Director Paweł Maślona was awarded in the Film category for “the sense of irony and bold breaking of conventions. For the lightness of the genre and the importance of the subject matter discussed. For showing in the film “Kos” a Poland virtually unknown from history textbooks – as a warning.”

Previously, the director was nominated for this award in 2017 for his full-length feature debut “Panic Attack”. He recently returned to the big screen with the Kościuszko western “Kos”, which won him the Golden Globe in September last year Lions during the Polish Feature Film Festival in Gdynia. The production will go into regular distribution in January.

Paweł MaślonaPAP/Paweł Supernak

Katarzyna Szyngiera – the director, screenwriter and reporter was awarded in the Theater category for “creating wise theater, boldly and with humor, crossing social and environmental divisions. For directing ‘1989’”.

Katarzyna SzyngieraPAP/Paweł Supernak

The studio won in the Digital Culture category Starward Industries for “a translation of Stanisław Lem’s classic work into the language of an interactive medium, distinguished by artistic taste and understanding of the author’s intentions.”

Starward Industries is an independent Krakow studio whose debut video game “The Invincible” is based on the novel “Invincible” by Stanisław Lem.

Starward IndustriesPAP/Paweł Supernak

Painter, photographer, author of installations and films Marta Nadolle was awarded in the Visual Arts category for “painting in which sociological inquisitiveness is combined with psychological insight, and personal experiences are translated into universal truths.”

Marta NadollePAP/Paweł Supernak

He won in the Book category Jacek Świdziński – cartoonist and culture expert. He received the award for “the graphic novel ‘Festiwal’, which perfectly tells the epic, multidimensional story of the Youth Festival, and also reflects the Polish traumas and fears of that era.”

Jacek ŚwidzińskiPAP/Paweł Supernak

Karolina Mikołajczyk and Iwo Jednocki were winners in the Classical Music category. The jury argued for awarding the prize for “versatility and the ability to navigate various musical worlds. For virtuosity, unbridled fantasy and ingenuity.” Mikołajczyk and Jednocki form a violin and accordion duo and have been performing for 10 years.

Karolina Mikołajczyk from the duo Karolina Mikołajczyk and Iwo JednockiPAP/Paweł Supernak

Hania Rani – the pianist, composer and vocalist won in the Popular Music category. The award was given for “leading the general public to areas that have not previously been associated with mass appeal. For the impressive development of one’s own aesthetics and, finally, for the original combination of genres and music with text.”

Hania RaniPAP/Paweł Supernak

This year, the Readers’ Passport award was awarded for the first time. He was the winner in this category Womb, i.e. Adam Zieliński. “With his latest album ‘Taxi’ he shows that rap can be a cinematic story combining a documentary with a plot. The music created especially for the album is innovative and opens up new sounds in this genre. Łona, as a representative of the old wave of hip-hop, is still experimenting, for which hats off,” wrote Tomasz Staneta from Warsaw.

Łona, or Adam ZielińskiPAP/Paweł Supernak

Winners of “Polityka” PassportsPAP/Paweł Supernak

Józef Hen with a special award

The annual special award of “Polityka” in the Creator of Culture category was awarded to a writer, playwright and screenwriter Józef Hen for “outstanding literary work that reflects our history. For testimony of the era and insightful observations of the present.”

– I grew up in a house where there were four children and each of them took books from a different reading room. I grew up in a natural relationship with culture in general and Polish culture in particular. The award is undoubtedly an honor. I hope that I somehow deserve it, because many outstanding people have awarded it to me. I encourage everyone not to be lazy, to read and think, said the laureate in a video played during the ceremony.

“Polityka” Passports 2023 – nominees

As the organizers write, Polityka’s Passports have “always had new phenomena and trends on the radar, names that are making a lot of noise in the country, and often in the world.” Here are all the nominees this year:

Movie: Nina Lewandowska and Kamila Tarabura, Paweł Maślona – winnerD. K. Welchman

Theater: Mateusz Pakula, Katarzyna Szyngiera – winnerŁukasz Twarkowski

Book: Grzegorz Bogdał, Agnieszka Pajączkowska, Jacek Świdziński – winner

Visual arts: Veronika Hapchenko, Marta Nadolle – winnerPatryk Różycki

Classical music: Duo Karolina Mikołajczyk & Iwo Jednocki – winnerYaroslav Shemet, Aleksandra Słyż

Popular music: Fury, Womb, Hania Rani – winner

Digital culture: Paweł Koźmiński, Robert Latoś (Well of Art), Starward Industries – winners

“Polityka” Passports 2023 – nominees“Polityka” weekly

Main photo source: PAP/Paweł Supernak

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article