12.7 C
Friday, June 14, 2024

Porsche stripped of IMSA Watkins Glen win, BMW inherits landmark victory

Must read

- Advertisement -

The #6 Porsche Penske Motorsport 963 of Nick Tandy and Mathieu Jaminet scored a dramatic general victory at Watkins Glen after passing the #25 BMW M Staff RLL BMW M Hybrid V8 of Nick Yelloly and Connor De Phillippi with simply six minutes of the six-hour race remaining.

That’s the best way the automobiles completed as a full-course warning got here out a lap later, resulting from Bill Auberlen rolling his Turner Motorsports BMW M4 GTD Automotive on the strategy to the ultimate nook, and the race completed underneath yellow.

Learn Additionally:

However following post-race inspection, the #6 Porsche was discovered to have a skid block measuring lower than the permitted minimal thickness and was moved to the rear of the GTP ending order, elevating the #25 BMW to victory.

UPDATE: Porsche launched a press release on Sunday evening: “Following post-race inspection at Watkins Glen Worldwide, IMSA has penalised the No. 6 entry within the Sahlen’s Six Hours of the Glen citing that the entrance skid put on of the No. 6 Porsche 963 was lower than one millimeter exterior the authorized tolerance.

“The rear skid put on was famous to be properly throughout the authorized tolerance. Porsche Penske Motorsport plans to gather all the information and comply with the protest procedures.”

- Advertisement -

The Porsche is the second IMSA GTP winner to be discovered to have breached the principles within the 5 races to date this 12 months within the new LMDh period.

The Meyer Shank Racing Acura that received the Daytona 24 Hours was allowed to maintain its victory within the file books, nonetheless, as its tyre stress information manipulation was solely found following post-race tech inspection – after the outcomes had been declared official – however did undergo a big factors deduction.

#25: BMW M Staff RLL, BMW M Hybrid V8, GTP: Connor De Phillippi, Nick Yelloly

Picture by: Michael L. Levitt / Motorsport Images

The Porsche’s exclusion means a primary GTP victory for BMW since 1986, when the late John Andretti and Davy Jones triumphed within the McLaren North America-run BMW M Staff March 86G.

It means all 4 marques taking part within the new-for-2023 hybrid-electrified GTP class in its debut season have now received within the first 5 races.

The Action Express Racing Cadillac V-Sequence.R of Pipo Derani, Alex Sims and Jack Aitken is elevated to second, forward of Colin Braun and Tom Blomqvist within the MSR Acura.

JDC Miller MotorSports’ buyer Porsche 963, pushed by Mike Rockenfeller and Tijmen van der Helm has jumped to fourth with the Chip Ganassi Racing Cadillac of Sebastien Bourdais and Renger van der Zande in fifth.

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article