18 C
London
Tuesday, October 19, 2021

Ravens’ record-breaking discipline aim comes with controversy, Lions coach says apology will not matter

Must read

- Advertisement -


The Baltimore Ravens defeated the Detroit Lions on Sunday due to a record-setting discipline aim from Justin Tucker nevertheless it didn’t come with out some controversy.

With 7 seconds remaining, Lamar Jackson and the offense have been making an attempt to get arrange for the lengthy attempt. The CBS broadcast had the play clock at zero seconds earlier than Jackson snapped the ball. No flag was thrown for a delay of recreation, assuming the printed play clock was synced with the time on the sector.

CLICK HERE FOR MORE SPORTS COVERAGE ON FOXNEWS.COM

Tucker would later hit a 66-yard discipline aim off the crossbar after which via the uprights.

Lions coach Dan Campbell mentioned it was a troublesome loss in his postgame press convention and was requested in regards to the ultimate moments of the sport.

- Advertisement -

“I simply – I don’t even know the way to describe it. I simply – I didn’t suppose it could make it. I do know he can attain it should you kick it low. However you simply – should you mentioned that, ‘They’re going to hit a 66-yarder to win the sport,’ you’d take these odds. However he made it. Kudos to him. They put themselves in place to do it, too. That’s once you discuss – for them it’s, ‘How can we get another alternative to at the very least take a swing at this?’ As a result of that’s why. That’s what occurs,” Campbell mentioned.

PACKERS’ MARQUEZ VALDES-SCANTLING WONDERS WHY 49ERS LEFT AARON RODGERS WITH TIME ON CLOCK

However ought to it have been a delay of recreation?

“There’s nothing I can say to that. As a result of it’s the identical factor. Tomorrow you’ll get an apology [from the NFL] and it doesn’t imply something. That’s life. That’s the hand we have been dealt and we nonetheless had a possibility. That was fourth and an extended option to go and we gave it up,” he mentioned.

Referee Scott Novak, in remarks to a pool reporter after the sport, mentioned the again decide is accountable for the play clock and he wasn’t positive whether or not it was synced with the TV clock.

“I don’t know in the event that they’re synced up or not. However so far as our mechanics, the again decide is wanting on the play clock and if it have been to hit zero, he sees the zero, and he then appears to be like to see if the ball is being snapped. If the ball is being snapped, we are going to let the play go. If it’s not shifting, it’s delay of recreation. These are the mechanics that we apply on that play,” Novak mentioned.

CLICK HERE TO GET THE FOX NEWS APP

Novak mentioned he didn’t suppose there was any likelihood the again decide was out of place.



Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article