9 C
Monday, March 4, 2024

Rovanpera named Autosport’s Worldwide Rally Driver of the 12 months

Must read

- Advertisement -

Rovanpera received three of the 13 rounds on his approach to retaining his drivers’ title with Toyota.

Autosport readers have voted the Finn the highest rally driver of 2023, forward of team-mates Elfyn Evans and Sebastien Ogier, and M-Sport Ford’s Ott Tanak. It’s the second consecutive time Rovanpera has received the honour.

Rovanpera’s victory was introduced on 3 December on the Autosport Awards at Grosvenor Home on Park Lane.

Former winners of the award, which has been operating since 1982 and is open to skilled or semi-professional rally drivers competing at worldwide stage, embrace Audi stars Michele Mouton and Stig Blomqvist, and a number of world champions Juha Kankkunen, Carlos Sainz, Tommi Makinen, Sebastien Loeb and Ogier. Colin McRae (thrice), Richard Burns (thrice) and Evans (as soon as) have additionally taken the accolade.

Different classes determined by fan voting embrace Worldwide Racing Driver of the 12 months offered by Pirelli, British Competitors Driver of the 12 months, Rookie of the 12 months, Worldwide Competitors Automotive of the 12 months and Nationwide Driver of the 12 months.

- Advertisement -

Additional awards, determined by skilled judging panels, embrace the Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Younger Driver of the 12 months Award, the Autosport Williams Engineer of the Future Award, the Autosport Gold Medal incorporating the Gregor Grant Award for lifetime legacy, the John Bolster Trophy for technical achievement, the Pioneering and Innovation Award, Second of the 12 months, and Promoter of the 12 months. A brand new award for 2023 is Model Partnership of the 12 months.

To seek out out who our different Award winners are, go to autosport.com/awards

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article