6.6 C
Tuesday, March 5, 2024

Rowland dominates to take pole from Frijns

Must read

- Advertisement -

The Nissan driver was in spectacular kind throughout all levels of qualifying in Saudi Arabia and saved his finest effort till his closing duel in opposition to Frijns.

Quickest time in all three sectors left him with a 1m10.055s, the quickest lap from everything of qualifying, which bagged Rowland his first pole since Seoul in 2022.

Rowland had progressed to the ultimate by beating Jaguar’s Nick Cassidy by lower than two tenths of their semi-final duel, as Frijns bought the higher of DS Penske’s Stoffel Vandoorne by an identical margin of their semi-final conflict.

Rowland booked his place within the semi-finals after beating Maserati MSG’s Jehan Daruvala by greater than six tenths, the Indian driver having progressed to the duels for the primary time in his fledgling Formulation E profession.

Cassidy was by no means headed in his battle in opposition to McLaren’s Jake Hughes, whereas a small error from Nissan’s Sacha Fenestraz within the opening sector meant he misplaced out in opposition to Vandoorne.

- Advertisement -

Polesitter from yesterday’s Diriyah E-Prix Jean-Eric Vergne was firmly crushed in his quarter-final duel with Frijns, the DS Penske driver ending 0.227s adrift.

Reigning champion Jake Dennis must climb from fifteenth on the grid if he’s to repeat his opening Diriyah E-Prix victory, after his closing qualifying effort was thwarted by a crimson flag within the qualifying levels.

The Andretti driver was left eighth within the second group and unable to enhance after Sebastien Buemi crashed at Flip 2 because the chequered flag got here out with drivers on their closing laps.

Photograph by: Sam Bagnall / Motorsport Images

Oliver Rowland, Nissan Formulation E Group, with runner up Robin Frijns, Envision Racing

It left Rowland’s 1m10.486s because the quickest time from Cassidy, who had accomplished his lap simply seconds earlier than Buemi’s accident, Hughes and Daruvala.

Buemi had set the fifth quickest time however the Envision driver misplaced his finest lap for inflicting the crimson flag, with it being confirmed post-qualifying that he wouldn’t begin this night’s race because of the injury sustained to his automotive within the accident.

Sergio Sette Camara (ERT), McLaren’s Sam Chook, Dennis, Nico Muller (Abt Cupra), Edoardo Mortara (Mahindra) and Lucas di Grassi (Abt Cupra) accomplished the order.

After dropping a podium place on the ultimate lap of the Diriyah E-Prix yesterday, Mitch Evans’s Saudi Arabian expertise went from unhealthy to worse as he too didn’t progress past the group stage.

Having topped FP3 earlier within the day, the Jaguar driver might solely end seventh within the opening group, which was headed by Fenestraz, Frijns, Vergne and Vandoorne.

For the second race in a row, Mexico Metropolis E-Prix winner Pascal Wehrlein additionally didn’t progress past the group stage because the Porsche driver completed fifth, simply over a tenth away from a coveted spot.

The present championship chief headed Maserati MSG’s Maximilian Guenther, Evans, Dan Ticktum (ERT), Nyck de Vries (Mahindra) and Norman Nato (Andretti).

Wehrlein’s team-mate Antonio Felix da Costa continued his disastrous begin to the season by ending backside of the group, multiple second behind Fenestraz’s 1m10.641s.

Diriyah E-Prix Beginning Grid:

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article