12.6 C
Sunday, May 26, 2024

Sainz XE claims maiden Excessive E victory

Must read

- Advertisement -

Ekstrom, standing in for the injured driver, group proprietor and two-time world rally champion Carlos Sainz, arrange the platform for the win courtesy of a blistering opening stint within the four-lap Grand Ultimate.

Sanz then accomplished the primary win of her Excessive E profession with a managed drive within the second stint, the win adding to a second place finish for the team on Saturday. The winners of Saturday’s opening spherical, Veloce Racing, completed second, 5.527s again, whereas Rosberg X Racing claimed third for the second day in succession.

The all-electric off-road championship debuted its new format on the 3.4km sandy course on the Neom coast. The quickest 5 groups from the 2, four-lap, five-car qualifying heats progressed to the Grand Ultimate, whereas the slowest 5 male/feminine driver crews made up the grid for the Redemption Race.

Veloce duo Kevin Hansen and Molly Taylor received each their qualifying heats to emerge as high qualifiers for the Grand Ultimate. The duo had been joined by the Sainz squad, RXR, Chip Ganassi Racing and Abt Cupra, the latter labored till 4am to organize the spare automotive for Sunday’s motion attributable to injury sustained to their entry on Saturday.

It was the Sainz squad that made the most effective begin as two-time DTM champion and 2016 World Rallycross title winner Ekstrom stormed into the lead.

- Advertisement -

The Swede rapidly opened up a six-second benefit that he would take into the change zone forward of Veloce’s Hansen, who managed to go RXR’s Johan Kristoffersson on lap 2, whereas Ganassi and Abt Cupra fought over fourth.

Amanda Sorensen, RJ Anderson, GMC Hummer EV Chip Ganassi Racing, battles with Laia Sanz, Mattias Ekstrom, Acciona | Sainz XE Crew, at the beginning

Photograph by: Colin McMaster / Motorsport Images

Sanz made no errors throughout the ultimate laps to finish a historic win and declare 25 championship factors, whereas Taylor gapped RXR’s Mikaela Ahlin-Kottulinsky to complete second.

Abt Cupra snatched fourth from Chip Ganassi by operating an alternate technique that noticed Klara Andersson take the beginning in opposition to the male drivers, earlier than handing over to 2023 Dakar winner Nasser Al-Attiyah for the ultimate leg.

The Lewis Hamilton owned X44 squad narrowly missed out on claiming the ultimate spot within the Grand Ultimate after ending qualifying with the identical qualifying factors whole because the Sainz XE group. Nonetheless, the Sainz group being sooner within the Continental Traction Problem zone ensured X44 must battle for the minor championship factors within the Redemption Race.

The Rodin Carlin-run squad had been joined by McLaren, Carl Cox Motorsport, JBXE and Andretti, the latter’s destiny signed after a DNF in Qualifying 2 Warmth 1, when the group suffered a 3rd roll of the weekend. This time Timmy Hansen hit a compression on the run to Flip 2 awkwardly, leading to a gradual roll whereas operating third within the warmth.

X44 claimed the honours within the Redemption Race after coming by way of a frantic encounter. Fraser McConnell, signed to interchange rally legend Sebastien Loeb, led Carl Cox Motorsport’s Timo Scheider to the change zone.

Nonetheless, the lead modified when Christine Giampaoli Zonca managed to go Cristina Gutierrez popping out of the driving force change zone. However Gutierrez responded by diving up the within of the Carl Cox entry at Flip 6 to reclaim the lead.

Emma Gilmour, Tanner Foust, NEOM McLaren Extreme E, battles with Mikaela Ahlin-Kottulinsky, Johan Kristoffersson, Rosberg X Racing, ahead of Cristina Gutierrez, Fraser McConnell, X44 Vida Carbon Racing, and Molly Taylor, Kevin Hansen, Veloce Racing

Emma Gilmour, Tanner Foust, NEOM McLaren Excessive E, battles with Mikaela Ahlin-Kottulinsky, Johan Kristoffersson, Rosberg X Racing, forward of Cristina Gutierrez, Fraser McConnell, X44 Vida Carbon Racing, and Molly Taylor, Kevin Hansen, Veloce Racing

Photograph by: Sam Bloxham / Motorsport Images

From there, Gutierrez managed the race to take the win and safe eight championship factors. Giampaoli Zonca was left to trundle residence in fourth after rolling the Carl Cox entry on the ultimate lap.

That allowed McLaren to safe second because of Emma Gilmour, who completed off Tanner Foust’s opening stint. Andretti managed to salvage third, whereas a roll for Hedda Hosas on the ultimate resulted in a DNF for the JBXE entry shared by Heikki Kovalainen.

The championship heads to Scotland for the Hydro X Prix, the second double header of the season, on 13-14 Could.

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article