16.3 C
Monday, June 24, 2024

Scotland 31-17 South Africa: Lana Skeldon stars in opening match of inaugural WXV event in Stellenbosch | Rugby Union Information

Must read

- Advertisement -

Scotland hit the bottom operating at Danie Craven Stadium to open their WXV marketing campaign with victory; England, Wales, Scotland and Eire will play throughout the tiered construction; WXV tournaments runs till November 4

Final Up to date: 13/10/23 10:58pm

Lana Skeldon scored two first-half tries as Scotland beat South Africa 31-17 of their opening match of the inaugural WXV event in Stellenbosch.

Worcester hooker Skeldon powered over twice within the house of six minutes earlier than half-time to offer her facet a 17-10 interval lead on the Danie Craven Stadium.

Libbie Janse van Rensburg’s early penalty and Aseza Hele’s transformed landing had put South Africa 10-5 up after Scotland quantity eight Evie Gallagher had scored the sport’s opening strive.

Scotland prop Leah Bartlett’s transformed rating 10 minutes into the second interval put her facet 24-10 forward and though South Africa lowered the deficit by way of Roseline Botes’ transformed strive, the Scots completed strongly.

- Advertisement -

Nice Britain sevens centre Lisa Thomson went over for the sport’s seventh and last strive, with Meryl Smith including her second profitable conversion, to seal victory for Bryan Easson’s facet.

Italy beat Japan 28-15 within the different Tier 2 sport on Friday whereas Eire kicked off their Tier 3 marketing campaign with a 17-try 109-0 victory over Kazakhstan in Dubai.

Eighteen groups are collaborating within the new three-tier WXV competitors, with the highest six, together with England and Wales, to compete in WXV 1 in New Zealand on October 21 and 28 and November 4.

What’s the WXV format?

There are three tiers, every with six groups – WXV 1, WXV 2 and WXV 3. Every tier is performed as a stand alone event in a unique location, with WXV 1 in New Zealand, WXV 2 in South Africa, and WXV 3 in Dubai.

WXV 1: Australia, Canada, England, France, New Zealand, Wales.

WXV 2: Italy, Japan, Samoa, Scotland, South Africa, USA.

WXV 3: Colombia, Fiji, Eire, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Spain.

It is a cross-pool format, which means groups do not play everybody of their tier, as a substitute taking up three nations from exterior their continent (except for Eire vs Spain).

There will probably be no relegation from WXV 1 for the primary two years, however the sixth-placed group from WXV 2 will probably be relegated to WXV 3 and changed by the winner of the third tier.

The underside-placed group from WXV 3 will probably be liable to leaving the competitors and face a play-off with the subsequent finest facet in line with the World Rugby Girls’s Rankings.

Groups qualify for WXV by way of their completely different regional competitions, with a sure variety of spots given to every continent in every tier. For instance, the highest three European groups compete in WXV 1, and that is decided by the Six Nations standings.

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article