2.8 C
Tuesday, November 28, 2023

Scott Dixon quickest in last apply; Newgarden penalised

Must read

- Advertisement -

Dixon lapped the 14-turn, 2.439-mile IMS street course in 1m10.9851s within the 30-minute session, which acts because the warm-up for tomorrow’s race.

The session took on extra significance after a outstanding qualifying session beforehand, wherein title contenders Alex Palou (Ganassi) and Josef Newgarden (Penske) may solely handle eighth and 19th on the grid respectively.

Firestone has introduced a more durable compound this weekend than it did for Might’s occasion right here, which prompted chaos for some – most notably Team Penske, with Scott McLaughlin the most effective of its runners in 11th (though he’ll begin 10th), with Will Power in 16th.

“Mainly the purple tyre [alternate] is a main from one other circuit,” defined Dixon.

Newgarden’s day turned much more bitter when he was given a 10-minute penalty on this session for lacking the motive force weigh-in. He responded by going quickest with 1m11.7878s after 10 of his 20 minutes accessible.

- Advertisement -

Former race winner right here Rinus VeeKay beat that with 1m11.4844s for Ed Carpenter Racing, earlier than Callum Ilott set 1m11.4315s after which Palou grabbed P1 with 1m11.1365s.

Dixon – who will begin 15th after additionally struggling in qualifying – went to the highest of the timesheet with 4 minutes to go together with 1m10.9851s, ending the session quickest forward of Palou, Penske’s Scott McLaughlin, Illot, Kyle Kirkwood (who’ll begin 13th for Andretti Autosport), VeeKay, Colton Herta (beginning 11th for Andretti) and Marcus Ericsson (Ganassi – who suffered extra clutch points on this session).

Pole-winner Graham Rahal was solely 17th on this session.

Tomorrow’s race begins at 2:00pm ET.

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article